Should i buy 1Tb hDd

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by -=[DDS]=-, Aug 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. -=[DDS]=-

    -=[DDS]=- G!ZMo FReeK

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    My current computer configuration is:

    1X40GB SAMSUNG IDE HDD
    1X160GB WDC SATA HDD
    1GB RAM
    AMD ATHLON 3000+
    NVIDIA 7100GS
    ASUS M2N-MX MOTHERBOARD

    Now i want to buy a 1TB Hard Disk, removing the 2 hard-disks which i have.

    SO with this configurations i have can i use 1TB Hard-Disk in my System without any problems ????

    & pls. tell me which is the best company for 1TB HDD
    i m looking in terms of SPEED & PERFOMANCE
     
  2. PraKs

    PraKs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    | Earth |
    1 TB WD Green

    Cheap & Best one, go for it.
     
  3. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    given the increase in HDD failure rate. I would suggest to buy two 500Gb HDDs. cost would be around 5k for two and a difference of 500 bucks won't hurt!!!
     
  4. dharmil16

    dharmil16 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i m asking that can i use 1TB hDd without any problems in my computer ????
    With this system configurations ??
     
  5. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    yep. shouldn't be a problem. but do remember, if it crashes (like it does for many), you lose huge amount of data.
     
  6. VarDOS

    VarDOS 15.0 GHz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beside A Road
    goin for 2 X 500 can cause a problem, as the power requirement for it will be more than single 1TB HDD
     
  7. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^^dude. it's a HDD, not a GPU. If you get Western Digital Green series HDDs, they will take much lower power than his existing dual HDDs.

    btw, an always on HDD takes around 7 to 12 watts of power. which is totally negligible. I even had 4 -5 HDD running in my old machine sometimes which had a 450W PSU.
     
  8. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    PS: Ask Rhitwick whether to take two 500Gb HDDs or 1Tb HDD and you will get the answer :)
     
  9. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Western digital is fairly reliable. But cant say that about Seagate now. So WD green/blue/black just take your pick. Plus WD has 5 years warranty and Seagate only 3!
     
  10. Vensanga

    Vensanga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    i think its better to buy two 500gb WD coz if one 500gb crashes you'll still have one 500gb and if 1Tb crashes you'll have none.....
     
  11. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Ya that's true. But 2x0.5TB would be around 1K more than 1x1TB. If that is ok with the OP then its a good choice!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page