RAM Upgrade...Plsssss Help!!!

dipak15

I have following Gigabyte MotherBoard :-

*www.giga-byte.com/Products/Motherb...rboard&ProductID=1767&ProductName=8I845GVM-RZ

Gigabyte 8I845GVM-RZ

All the details of motherboard is in the above link. I copied the Memory part of my motherboard specification as below
Memory
  1. Type: DDR333/266
  2. 2 x DIMM
  3. Max capacity: Up to 2 GB (Max 1 GB per slot)
But the disappointing part is that...when I searched market here in NP, New Delhi..No one is selling DDR 333Mhz RAM :(..they all saying now is the age of DDR3 RAM...
Only RAM available is DDR 400Mhz...some seller say it will be compliant with your motherboard, some says No it won't ...other seller saying...they can't say anything on this.

Currently installed RAM in my system is-- Slot 1 -- 128MB DDR 266Mhz -- Hyundai
Slot 2 -- 256MB DDR 266MHz --Simmitronics

But I want to upgrade to 1GB atleast.... but don't know wat to do :(:(

As DDR 333Mhz is not available....pls help me ...wat will i do....Do I install the DDR 400Mhz RAM which is available....as some sellers says it will run in ur system wid 333MHz speed....I m not clear wat to do??? :confused::confused:....pls help me guys...

Also ...sellers only talk abt RAM capacity(512MB, 1GB etc.), type(DDR, DDR2 etc) and speed(400Mhz, 800Mhz etc.) but no1 talk abt other attributes of RAM...as I found from my motherboard specification that only 184pin DIMM, unbuffered, unregistered, non ECC, single channel DDR 266/333Mhz RAM is supported with.....even if assuming that DDR 400MHz can run on my motherboard....don't I have to look for these other attributes also??? :confused::confused:...coz no seller is telling anything abt theses??? pls help me ... :confused:

Thanks in advance & waiting for ur helpful replies :)

Vishal Patil

Linux all the way
My 82845 chipset supports just 266MHz. I tried using 333MHz RAM, but y PC, didnt boot.
There are four versions of 82845, see if your's is the (only)1 that supports 333MHz.

If you dont get a 333MHz ram if its supported by your PC, better forget upgradation. Dont use 400MHz RAM.

dipak15

My 82845 chipset supports just 266MHz. I tried using 333MHz RAM, but y PC, didnt boot.
There are four versions of 82845, see if your's is the (only)1 that supports 333MHz.

If you dont get a 333MHz ram if its supported by your PC, better forget upgradation. Dont use 400MHz RAM.

Thnx 4 reply vishal..

Actually I found there are 3 versions of 8I845GVM mother board...from Gigabyte website...out of which two supports 333Mhz ...mine also support 333Mhz from specification....though currently running 266Mhz on my system as mentioned in the previous post.......

m shocked to read the last line.....:(:(:(:( ....my motherboard RAM can't be upgraded if 333Mhz RAM is not available???? :confused::confused:...

plssss help guys.....can anyone throw some light regarding my problem in earlier post....

is it can't be resolved??? :(:(

You can use ddr 400MHZ without a single prob. Just get one 1GB ram module or get 2x 512MB DDR 400Mhz module.

I'm using 333Mhz ram modules with 845 board which supports 266Mhz max.

Your mobo will automatically downclock those rams to 400MHZ.
Just look for reputed ram makers like zion or transcend.

dipak15

ok ...so guys it mean i can buy DDR 400MHz RAM widout any worry??it will definetely wrk on my mobo??? :)...actually the thing is dat once i bought the RAM and if suppose it won't wrk wid d mobo ...its a total lost and waste of money 4 me....dats d only concern wid :confused::confused:,...coz of dat still nt bought d DDR 400Mhz RAM

DDR 400 will work but still if you want be on safe side buy one 512MB module 1st.
If it works get another 512MB the next day :p

But remember to get ram of the same manufacture & same speed.

dipak15

....Ok I m gonna to buy RAM tomorow...but d picture is nt totally clear to me still yet ...will post d results tomorow... *forums.techarena.in/images/smilies/smile000.gif

but ne suggestion b4 dat is very much welcomed *forums.techarena.in/images/smilies/smile000.gif

dipak15

i bought Transcend DDR 400 1GN RAM....its wrkin fine ...but only at 266Mhz *forums.techarena.in/images/smilies/noexpression.gif

as mentioned in the link above my motherboard's website....my motherboard can support DDR 266/333 Mhz memory....then y this newly installed DDR 400Mhz RAM is running at 266 only....plss help ...hw can i increase its speed to 333??? *forums.techarena.in/images/smilies/noexpression.gif

Are you using any of your OLD memory module. I think you are using the 256MB one.
It's speed is 266Mhz. Am I right ?

As you are using the old mem module ( 266 Mhz ) with the new one which is 400Mhz
the mobo automatically decreases it's speed to 266Mhz to maintain stability.

If you are not using any one of your old mem modules
then go into bios and set your mem speed to 333Mhz manually.

dipak15

Are you using any of your OLD memory module. I think you are using the 256MB one.
It's speed is 266Mhz. Am I right ?

As you are using the old mem module ( 266 Mhz ) with the new one which is 400Mhz
the mobo automatically decreases it's speed to 266Mhz to maintain stability.

If you are not using any one of your old mem modules
then go into bios and set your mem speed to 333Mhz manually.

No I m nt using the old RAM as it was nt compatible wid d new 1...i checked it at the vendor's place itself...there was a continous beep sound frm the CPU when tried to run both....

in fact after coming out frm dat shop, i sold the old 256 RAM there in diff shop for 200 bucks :D ...dont know ...whether it was a nice business or nt....they r givin only dat much amt :)

neway.... i tried to change the memory frequency from BIOS as suggested by u...but in my BIOS ...there is only 3 option available to change it manually.... :(

Host/DRAM Clock Frequency Ratio [Auto]
1) 2.0 [200Mhz]
2) 2.66 [266Mhz]
3) Auto

currently selected was Auto...wat to do ...hw can i set it to 333Mhz ...as frm motherbaord site ...its says supported type is DDR333/266

wat to do????

aswin1

Maybe u need to flash your BIOS with the latest one from Gigabyte website. A high risk
for a slight gain if u ask me.

dipak15

Maybe u need to flash your BIOS with the latest one from Gigabyte website. A high risk
for a slight gain if u ask me.

i had already dwnloaded the latest version of BIOS i.e. F8 from my motherboard website few days back but...there also mentioned...
Warning:
Because BIOS flashing is potentially risky, if you do not encounter problems using the current version of BIOS, it is recommended that you not flash the BIOS. To flash the BIOS, do it with caution. Inadequate BIOS flashing may result in system malfunction.

that's y i dint flashed my BIOS to latest version till yet...my current BIOS version is F5

plsss reply....wat are the high risk associated..as u mentioned???? shud i got for bIOS flash to latest version..???

First of all post screenshot every CPU-Z tab. It's a utility which will tell you about your CPU, MB, Mem correctly.

You have another 266Mhz 128MB Ram. Are you using that. If so then remove that 128MB module from slot 1 and insert the 1gb module into slot 1 & use it only.
That should give you 333Mhz speed.
If not read on.......

Your mobo doesn't even have a optiobn to activate 333Mhz speed. There could be several reason :

Your mobo bios is old. So it supports only 266Mhz speed.

The new bios should fix it ie give U the option of 333Mhz speed or will set it automatically.

Looks like BIOS flashing is the only way if you want to get 333Mhz.

But here's the catch.....Read on.........
F8 2005/08/19 Update CPU microcode
F7 2005/04/08 Update CPU microcode
F6 2004/10/11 Fixed 0F41 CPU can't boot issue

Your current Bios is F5. But on the above updated bios list there is nothing about mem fix or something else. Those released bios are for support new cpu mainly & some booting issue

So seems like a bios flsh may not solve your prob. It could be PCB limitation though I know 845GV chip supports DDR 333Mhz mem. Some times some PCB have some bug.
If it's a pcb limitation you will not able to do much about it.

266Mhz and 333Mhz performance difference is not that much. Only around 10-20%.

Still you can give bios flash a try. It may solve your prob but I'm not sure.
As flashing to new version of bios is always recomended for increased system ability & better compatibilty with hardwares.

Nuxer

liNux+usER
i bought Transcend DDR 400 1GN RAM....its wrkin fine ...but only at 266Mhz *forums.techarena.in/images/smilies/noexpression.gif

as mentioned in the link above my motherboard's website....my motherboard can support DDR 266/333 Mhz memory....then y this newly installed DDR 400Mhz RAM is running at 266 only....plss help ...hw can i increase its speed to 333??? *forums.techarena.in/images/smilies/noexpression.gif

Friend, I am using 2*512 DDR400 in my Gigabyte GA-K8VM800M motherboard. This mobo supports DDR 400/333/266/200 DIMM. But according to mobo manual "Because of CPU limitations, if you want to install DDR400 memory modules in your system, please install either one double-sided or two single sided DDR400 memory modules. The DDR400 speed will drop down to DDR333 if you install two double-sided DDR400 memory modules."

I think this is your problem.

dipak15

Friend, I am using 2*512 DDR400 in my Gigabyte GA-K8VM800M motherboard. This mobo supports DDR 400/333/266/200 DIMM. But according to mobo manual "Because of CPU limitations, if you want to install DDR400 memory modules in your system, please install either one double-sided or two single sided DDR400 memory modules. The DDR400 speed will drop down to DDR333 if you install two double-sided DDR400 memory modules."

I think this is your problem.

i dint understand ...wat is double sided and single sided RAM??? :(

First of all post screenshot every CPU-Z tab. It's a utility which will tell you about your CPU, MB, Mem correctly.

You have another 266Mhz 128MB Ram. Are you using that. If so then remove that 128MB module from slot 1 and insert the 1gb module into slot 1 & use it only.
That should give you 333Mhz speed.
If not read on.......

Your mobo doesn't even have a optiobn to activate 333Mhz speed. There could be several reason :

Your mobo bios is old. So it supports only 266Mhz speed.

The new bios should fix it ie give U the option of 333Mhz speed or will set it automatically.

Looks like BIOS flashing is the only way if you want to get 333Mhz.

But here's the catch.....Read on.........
F8 2005/08/19 Update CPU microcode
F7 2005/04/08 Update CPU microcode
F6 2004/10/11 Fixed 0F41 CPU can't boot issue

Your current Bios is F5. But on the above updated bios list there is nothing about mem fix or something else. Those released bios are for support new cpu mainly & some booting issue

So seems like a bios flsh may not solve your prob. It could be PCB limitation though I know 845GV chip supports DDR 333Mhz mem. Some times some PCB have some bug.
If it's a pcb limitation you will not able to do much about it.

266Mhz and 333Mhz performance difference is not that much. Only around 10-20%.

Still you can give bios flash a try. It may solve your prob but I'm not sure.
As flashing to new version of bios is always recomended for increased system ability & better compatibilty with hardwares.

so finally, is it recommended to update BIOS???

also i tried to update the BIOS using Q-Flash and floppy drive as directed on mobo website....but when i selected update frm floppy disk .and then BIOS show me the file i copied 4 updation....then i selected the file and hit Enter......but BIOS showed me incorrect file size :(...instead of that i dwnloaded it as a zip file frm mobo site....then unpacked it in my hard drive and then transfered the needed file to floppy.....dont know wat to do now??? :confused::confused:

1st of all answer to my these question

Are U using the 128MB module ? Can U post some CPU-Z screenshots.
*www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

For bios upgrade prob re-download. unzip the file. copy the xxx.bin or xxx.rom file to your floppy & tyry to reflash it again.

If you are not successful try to flash it from within windows with some software that came with your mobo CD ( most of the mobo comes with software with which you can flash bios from windows )

dipak15

1st of all answer to my these question

Are U using the 128MB module ? Can U post some CPU-Z screenshots.
*www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

For bios upgrade prob re-download. unzip the file. copy the xxx.bin or xxx.rom file to your floppy & tyry to reflash it again.

If you are not successful try to flash it from within windows with some software that came with your mobo CD ( most of the mobo comes with software with which you can flash bios from windows )

No, as I mentioned earlier also....i m not using any of the old memory module....coz they were nt compatible wid the new 1gig module....will post cpu-z tab today evening...as m nt on my pc rite nw.....

no there is no such type of s/w on my mobo CD :( ...can u pls provide me the details to dwnload such BIOS flash s/w to flash frm within windows for my mobo??