RAM problem..?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by vineetrocks2005, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vineetrocks2005

    vineetrocks2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    I am from Dehradun(Uttaranchal).I am looking for a 512 MB RAM 266 MHz.So I asked my dealer he said that 512MB RAM at 333Mhz is available .I tried a 333 MHz RAM on my PC but it haven't worked bcoz my motherboard supports only upto 266 Mhz of RAM.I searched nearly all computers stores in my city but haven't find one.Please tell me are 266 MHz RAM's obsolete or if they are available where can i find one..?.
    Also tell me that instead of buying a new RAM should i go for a motherboard upgrade...?
     
  2. bhoolkumehul

    bhoolkumehul New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    I have also 266MHz supporting mobo(D845GBV). but i am using Twinmos 256MB 400MHz ram without any problem.
     
  3. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    My motherboard too supports 266MHz modules.But my new Hynix 512MB RAM module 400MHz works perfectly.

    The new Hynix memory modules automatically decrease the frequency to the one that the motherboard supports.So you should have no problems. :)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    vineetrocks2005

    vineetrocks2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    i want a RAM module that can work with my existing 128MB 266 Mhz module
     
  5. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    No problem, any Hynix 400MHz memory module will be compatible with your existing module.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    vineetrocks2005

    vineetrocks2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    can u tell how much a Hynix 512 MB 400 MHz module will cost..?
     
  7. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Hmm, i had brought one 3 months ago for Rs 2300/-...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    vineetrocks2005

    vineetrocks2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    hey can u tell me from where i can get this RAM in India.Is it easily available
     
  9. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    ya, in very decent computer hardware shop..
    Ask for Zion RAM module with Hynix chipset...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page