Pre-owned car discussion

Desmond

Destroy Erase Improve
Staff member
Admin
I have been thinking of getting a second hand car for myself. This will be the first car that I own and I am a pretty green driver. So, I have some queries regarding this.

• What to look for in a car when going to shop?
  • What make and models have good value in the current market for a budget of < 5L
  • Are dedicated brick-and-mortar resellers trustworthy? I hear some of them may try to sell flood damaged cars that won't be covered by insurance.
  • Are online resellers like spinny or cardekho trustworthy?
  • Are CNG/Petrol hybrid cars good? I see that if I get a pure CNG car it will be difficult to drive out of the city since there will be a lack of CNG pumps.
  • How much financing is feasible if I plan to keep the car for a short term? Technically I can afford to pay cash as well, but I am anxious since I have never blown that much amount at once before.

I don't really plan on keeping the car for too long, perhaps 1-2 years and then I'll probably sell it and get a brand new one.

OP
Desmond

Desmond

Destroy Erase Improve
Staff member
Admin
Welp. I thought there would be some car enthusiasts here who might help. Not very keen on registering for a new forum just for one query.

I'll look into making an account there later if I get no leads.

Nerevarine

Incarnate
My old intern in pune got a Volkswagen polo with under 10k kms driven for ~2 lakhs. That was from olx. Try looking for deals such as this, you will find much better deals from individual sellers than brick and mortar shops. You should look for number of kms driven, typically under 20k is a great deal.

DONOT buy automatic, if you go to any second hand car seller, you will see huge number of automatic cars available for cheap, and many on repair with transmission broken. Indian roads aren't good for automatic cars, because we need to slow down a lot due to traffic.