Please suggest a modem for Dataone-homeplan

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by a_medico, May 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. a_medico

    a_medico Chillum Baba

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    i have applied for Dataone 900 unlimited homeplan.

    We wish to use 2 laptops (centrinos) on that connection.

    BSNL people have ran out of stock for the modems so they insisted us to buy the same.

    Kindly suggest me which modem to buy? What is the significance of type 1,2,3,4 modems? Which one is better for home use?

    Can i use wireless internet with this option? Do i need to buy an extra access point or something similar?

    thanks
     
  2. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    Get the modem from BSNL . Insist them to give u a type IV modem .It has wifi acces point + 4 port switch. That too for 2k. You wont get any netgear of linksys modem cheaper that this.
     
  3. aryan333

    aryan333 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think u should go for D-Link 512 kbps modem i am also using this modem and it is working very fine also visit this site and become its member tech-forum.perfectschools.com
     
  4. OP
    OP
    a_medico

    a_medico Chillum Baba

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    what are types 1,2,3 and 4?

    are they related to ports?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    a_medico

    a_medico Chillum Baba

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    will a Netgear wireless router/modem/accesspoint, the so called all-in-one model work for two floor barrier?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    a_medico

    a_medico Chillum Baba

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    also, what is the approximate cost of Netgear all-in-one in mumbai? They are quoting it too high here Rs7200 which I think is too high. In US its approx $35.
     
  7. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    They told me the same thing when I applied for it. I asked another BSNL official and lo, they suddenly had the modem. I would advise you to wait a few days. They obviously will be replenishing their stock, won't they?
    I would discourage the use of your own modem because if in future you face some connectivity problems, BSNL will blame the modem and the vendor will blame BSNL. If it is BSNL's own modem, they will replace it even if it is not the source of the problem. :)
     
  8. cyrux

    cyrux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hyd
    As i said earlier get the modem from the BSNL people. Suppose you have any problems later those fools sitting at the office will blame your modem for it, even if every thing is fine with it. Moreover bsnl modems are value for moeny

    Suppose you want to share a connection , then you need to go for a ADSL modem + switch . These types of modems are hard to find in india . You have go for a dialer and switch separately which will of course cost a bomb . So the best solution is to go for a type IV modem

    More on BSNL modems

    Type I - Cost Rs 1200 Simple adsl modem (may support usb + ethernet eg. huawei mt 882)
    Type II - ADSL modem + wifi access pt Rs 1800
    Type III - ADSL modem + 4 port switch Rs 1500
    Type IV - ADSL modem +4 port switch + wifi access point
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page