PC keep restarting. Do I need power stabilizer?

Discussion in 'Power supply / Cabinets / Mods' started by crius.black, Dec 4, 2017.

  1. crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Which will be good stabilizer for my PC?

    Hi...

    My PC keep restarting in every 5 - 10 minutes. I tried to troubleshoot everything including disabling "auto restrat" option and formatting my PC and doing clean install. Still the problem is there.
    Then I suspected power fluctuation issue. So I tried to connect my whole PC system in my neighbor's house and same problem happened.

    Later I connected my PC at my uncle's house in another area and it doesn't restart. So temporarily I came to conclusion that it is may be because of power fluctuations in my area.

    The issue just started since last 2 months. Complained to electricity officials but you know how these organizations work in India.

    Below are my PC configuration.

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

    Intel i7 6700k
    Asus Z170 Maximus VIII Ranger
    32 GB G-skill Ripjaws (8GBx4)
    240 GB Kingston SSD
    4 TB WD HDD (1TB x 4)
    4 GB Asus GTX 960 DDR 5 Graphics Card
    Heatsink liquid Seidon 120m
    LG DVD Writer
    600W Cooler Master SMPS

    22" Dell S2216H LED (2 Monitors)
    Creative SBS A-355 2.1 Speaker
    Wacom Pen Tablet
    APC BR 1100CJ-IN UPS
    Keyboard Mouse

    My UPS is in great condition and in power failures, give 20 minutes of backup. But it can't prevent restart. Also I keep all my drivers up to date.

    The total power consumption of my PC comes around 1200W I guess. Do you think I need a voltage stabilizer? If Yes, then which is best? My budget is around 8K INR.
     
  2. meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Do you get any indications while restart ? UPS beeps, light fluctuations. It could be something related to your hardware as well. If there is power line issue, switch on the lights and look for some flashes, blinking etc. Otherwise, something might be wrong in your motherboard or similar.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. But same PC doesn't restart when I shifted it to another area in my city for testing. Yeah there are light flashes at different time in my house. Whenever the PC restarts it doesn't give any indication. It just restarts like someone switched off and then switched it on.
     
  4. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    43
    1) which cooler master PSU model no ? and how old it is ?

    2) did you have voltage fluctuations in the past as well ? and no restarts back then , or are they occurring now only ?

    3) restarts happening at idle as well or during gaming only
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
  5. meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Were you using the same UPS ? How long did you test ?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    1. Cooler Master RS-600-ACAB-B1
    2. Yes, Voltage fluctuations were in the past too. But no restart then. It started just since last 2 months.
    3. It happens every time. Whether it is idle or I am working on it.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No. In other area I connected the PC directly to the power supply. Not UPS. But, in my home I tried disconnecting UPS and connecting it directly to the power supply and it restarted then too.
     
  8. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,701
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    NCR
    If the same PC does not restart in another area with same ups then a probable reason might be some issue in changeover time of either ups or smps which is not able to keep up with fluctuations in your area but would work fine with a constant electric supply.
     
  9. meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Did you check your power point ? Get an electrical guy to have it mentored.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Another Area:
    No UPS. Direct power supply. No Restart.
    My Home:
    With UPS. Restart.
    No UPS. Still Restart.

    Checked Power supply. Tried to connect in another power supply in my home. Still restart.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Power point is fine. Tried connecting same setup at another power point in my house. Still restart.
    Also in my neighbor's house, it restarts.
     
  12. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    43
    from the description i am 70-80 % sure that this is because of PSU .. your model Cooler master B600 uses a Capxon primary cap ( bad quality )
    Cooler Master B600 ver.2 review door -The_Mask-

    , although you didn't mention how old it is , i am guessing it is 2-3+ years old already , it has probably degraded and lost it's capacitance now and isn't able to provide a long enough hold up time to keep your PC working while your UPS takes time in switching and adjusts when there is voltage fluctuation .. while previously it was fine.. your PSU also takes input from 200-240v only

    This is common issue with Corsair VS as well from what i have read..

    in another area where it didn't restart , voltage is constant and above 200 v , so hold up time doesn't come into play...

    does it restarts everytime there is a voltage fluctuation ? or it sometime does and sometimes not when there is voltage fluctuations ? i mean does it keeps on working sometimes when there is voltage fluctuation..

    to confirm before making an expenditure can you arrange a different non faulty power supply or UPS from friend somewhere for testing ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
  13. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    1. The whole build is 1.5 years old.
    2. Sometimes, occasionally it holds up till 25-30 minutes.
    3. I called APC (UPS guys). The technician came and checked the UPS and found it perfectly working.
    4. I have uploaded my restart/shutdown log file obtained from You can see how frequently it restarts. Due to it, PC remains idle since last few days.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    43
    PSU seems to be the culprit , if you can arrange somebody else's PSU then that would be good .. RMA this PSU , say it restarts PC on power cut with UPS , and previously it used to work fine for 1.5 years and never had issues

    in the meantime try removing all the 4 hard disks and GPU from PC . run it bare minimum on iGPU , at stock , only connect PSU wire to UPS and no other components like monitor, speakers etc .. and see if it is able to decrease the frequency of restarts..

    you can try repeatedly switch on and off your main AC switch to which UPS is connected , 10 times .. see how many times it restarts then out of 10

    The PSU is poor quality anyways and not good for your system for long term , better change it
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
    crius.black likes this.
  15. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you sir. :goodjob: I will do the same and let you know my results.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Also if you can suggest me the suitable PSU for my system, it will be really helpful. :)
     
  17. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    43
    don't call me sir bro :)

    if you can spend around 8k , then Corsair RM 650X .. it has 10 years warranty ( though confirm once from corsair india if it's 7 or 10 years in india).. so it's worth the price , buy once and forget about PSU for next 7-10 years..

    otherwise Corsair TXM if your budget is tight and you are ok with it being loud...

    but before buying first please check your system with somebody else's PSU , just in case if problem is something else other than PSU
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
    crius.black likes this.
  18. OP
    OP
    crius.black

    crius.black New to this forum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you. :) Sure. I'll check it first and let you know here.
     

Share This Page