Partition Confusion (WIN XP PRO+SP3 OS)

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ashu888ashu888, Jul 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ok guys, here's a problem..

    (i knw im wrong..so plz guide me)..

    Here are the screenshots of the partition page

    (Ctrl Panel > Administrative tools > Computer Mgmt.)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I wanna create 4-5 more partitions (all ntfs), but as i finish creating one PHYSICAL partition (look at the encircled screenshot of F Drive), then im left with tat BLACK Colored UNALLOCATED space, i just cant create any more partitions.. (be it Logical or even Physical or Extended) :confused:

    Wat shud be done to rectify this problem.. (i knw tat we in Win XP PRO OS) can create upto 3 Primary and 1 Extended part or 4 Primary Partitions..

    is it bcoz i created a Logical Drive partition (X: drive), that im facing such a problem of not being able to create more partitions in the UNALLOCATED PARTITION..?? :confused:
     
  2. aswin1

    aswin1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think you should format that partition using some partition manager and then try to create partitions. Try EASEUS FREE PARTITION MANAGER.
     
  3. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is because you already haf 4 partitions [primary + extended] (you cannot haf more than 4 of any combination). See the dark 'blue' color. This signifies a primary partition. And your extended partition is all occupied by one large logical partition of the same size. Delete one (or two) partition(s) and instead make a large extended partition. Now create whatever logical partitions you want to create inside the extended volume.

    If Windows tool doesn't allow you to do that use something like GParted.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @ infra_red_dude

    yup, u were right, i deleted all the partitions (except for the C drive) and then in that UNALLOCATED SPACE i created straight away an EXTENDED PARTITION (wich previously i create a PRIMARY partition, by mistake)...

    Now.. i can create as many logical drives as possible..

    here's the new screenshot of my new logical drives.. (below) :)

    [​IMG]
    ================


    thanx again...:)
    =================


    btw, say now if i hv to install Win Vista (64 bit, so that i hv a dual boot OS setup), then shud i create a LOGICAL DRIVE (partition) of FAT32 (or NTFS) partition by this method b4 hand and then boot from Vista DVD adn install.. right.. ???

    Coz after converting tat huge volume of HDD space into an EXTENDED partition, the only thing i can create now is jus LOGICAL DRIVES...i hope tat installing VISTA in this LOGICAL DRIVE will not create any problems in boot up.. :confused:
    ---------


    Cheers n e-peace...
     
  5. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AFAIK Vista can be installed on a logical partition. So you can create a partition beforehand and chose that during Vista install. I maybe wrong tho, coz I don't use or haf installed Vista for quite sometime now.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ^^

    ok thanx anyhow.. :)
    --------

    I create a Logical partition and successfully installed Vista Ultimate (x64) and i DO get the dual boot option at boot time too.. :)
    --------

    Cheers n e--peace....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page