OS Choice menu

Status
Not open for further replies.

indrajit

Journeyman
Hi. I'm new to Linux and am unaware about most of the technicalities of this OS. Recently I installed Red Hat 9 on my PC. My existing OS is Win XP Pro. After successful completion of the installation when I rebooted the machine, this is what I found in the OS choice menu:

Red Hat Linux (2.4.20- 8smp)
Red Hat Linux-up ( 2.4.20-8 )
DOS

I've no clue where that second Linux option came up from. And then, after a few days, on booting I found the PC wont start. All I got was a black DOS screen with "grub>" as prompt. Being unable to boot, I deleted the Linux partition using XP boot CD.
Yesterday, once again I tried to install Linux, and yet again as before found the same OS choice menu after installation.

I’ve installed Linux using the same CD on my friends PC without any problem. Could any body tell me what’s happening here?

firewall

In the zone
Its not a problem. It seems you are using Processor with HT technology. Thats why Redhat has installed SMP kernel along with hte normal one.

Its preferrable foryou to use the SMP kernel one for better performance.

nJoy the power of GNU/LINUX...

:)

GNUrag

FooBar Guy
indrajit said:
I've no clue where that second Linux option came up from. And then, after a few days, on booting I found the PC wont start. All I got was a black DOS screen with "grub>" as prompt. Being unable to boot, I deleted the Linux partition using XO boot CD.
Yesterday, once again I tried to install Linux, and yet again as before found the same OS choice menu after installation.

it would not happen all of a sudden. Did you format/delete the ext3 partition unknowingly from windows ? before the grub> prompt started coming?

hafees

In the zone
yes it is bcoz of the HT technology.

which processor u're using?? pls specify ur system config.

OP
I

indrajit

Journeyman
@GNUrag: No I didn't do that. I deleted the partition using XP boot CD only after I got the grub> prompt.