1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

No signal in monitor, even-though the PC is running.

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by monsur, Jan 11, 2018.

  1. monsur

    monsur New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, so this is long , please bear with me. I have had this problem for quite a long time . Often while starting up the computer , Monitor would display no signal detected and then it remains black . Often it crashes in the middle of something and then while starting it up the monitor displays the same message. The most ridiculous part is , it often solves when i keep the PC off for a day or two or a week. This happened a number of times. Then it completely refused to start again. Replaced my PSU and Mobo on the recommendation of the service guys and it was fine for a year and then again it has started. I cannot understand the problem. I can go and get a new Mobo/PSU again, but i feel its something else.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  2. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8,938
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    Post detailed specifications of your PC. Don't purchase things just because a service guy recommended it.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    monsur

    monsur New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Processor core i3 2100
    Motherboard H61
    Memory 4GB DDR 3
    Graphics card intel HD graphics
    HDD WD 500GB

    Changed my power cable and the HDMI cable . Also tried VGA cable . No result yet.
     
  4. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8,938
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    Again, complete specifications. What about PSU? Which exact mobo, ram?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    monsur

    monsur New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Intel core i3 2100
    Mercury PIH61T mobo
    Corsair Value Select 4 GB DDR3
    WD Green 500GB
    Corsair TX650
    Benq G2420HD
     
  6. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8,938
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    It maybe because of either mobo going bad or dead display outputs or both. Try running it with a friend's GPU (or used GT210 for very cheap). Also check if thermal paste has dried and remove any dust buildup.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    monsur

    monsur New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply . But wouldn't it be a consistent problem ??? Whats the rationale behind Monitor starting fine when kept off for a day or two?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  8. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8,938
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
    I honestly don't know. Have you tried booting the PC using a TV/other monitor instead of the current monitor?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    monsur

    monsur New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My monitor is fine . I have used it with my friend's pc. However when i plugged my friend's monitor to my pc the result is same...no display signal
     
  10. patkim

    patkim Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mumbai,Pune
    Have you attempted to check if your OS is actually running when nothing is being displayed on monitor? Assuming it's Windows does it respond to shutdown in a proper manner when attempted to shutdown (assuming you know the keyboard sequence) confirming that indeed OS is running fine but there's no display.

    Whenever it works fine, try to lower the resolution of your display thru OS settings and run for a few days on lower resolution and check if the issue goes away.

    What if you just run the system with very minimal components outside of the cabinet, no HDDs connected. Just mobo ram and keyboard?

    Do you have on board graphics or discrete graphics card?

    Whenever display works, access BIOS and try altering the Video Buffer memory size in your BIOS

    Try connecting the monitor to another power socket. Is it on separate mains socket or all are part of the same spike guard?

    As already stated above, check if the motherboard has excess dust, try to clean it carefully with a light brush or if you have/can manage IPA cleaner.

    Do you have a speaker connected to mobo? Do you hear a single beep when it works fine and other times when display does not work, no beep at all?

    If you have just one stick of RAM try alternating it between available DIMM sockets.

    As already stated above, if you have only onboard graphics, try if you can manage to get a suitable graphics card from your friend or thru a local repair shop and test with it as well.

    What crashes? Is it the OS or display suddenly goes blank?

    Do you or your friend has a laptop where you can try hooking the same monitor in question and try to send the laptop display on that monitor? Does it work correctly then?
     
  11. meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Do you have any other output from cabinet than VGA ? HDMI for example. If yes, try a different output method and see what happens.
     
  12. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,745
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    disconnect HDD and test your pc outside of the cabinet on a open table. See if it starts every time or not.
     

Share This Page