no desktop

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by [digitt], Dec 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i hav windows xp sp2..
    whenever i start my computer i reach till the welcome screen....
    then it shows the wallpaper and not the desktop ....
    i can open task manager ..see all the processes there..
    when i start the explorer.exe process manully i get the desktop on my screen..
    One more thing i have ..i also hav WIN98 whenevr i boot 98 i hav started gettin explorer.exe has performed illegal operation or systray.exe has performed illegal operation
    and same wid loadqm....get a diff process every time i boot up
     
  2. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Please post your HijackThis Logfile for better assesment of your problem.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 11:01:07 AM, on 12/2/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    D:\mysql\bin\mysqld-nt.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    D:\Program Files\Virtual CD v4\System\vcdsecs.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\essspk.exe
    D:\Program Files\eLitecore\Cyberoam Client for 24Online\CyberoamClient.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\NOTEPAD.EXE
    D:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    D:\Documents and Settings\mayank\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.rediff.com/
    O2 - BHO: myBar BHO - {0494D0D1-F8E0-41ad-92A3-14154ECE70AC} - D:\Program Files\MyWay\myBar\2.bin\MYBAR.DLL
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - D:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: IeCatch2 Class - {A5366673-E8CA-11D3-9CD9-0090271D075B} - D:\PROGRA~1\FLASHGET\jccatch.dll
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - d:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &SearchBar - {0494D0D9-F8E0-41ad-92A3-14154ECE70AC} - D:\Program Files\MyWay\myBar\2.bin\MYBAR.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: FlashGet Bar - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - D:\PROGRA~1\FLASHGET\fgiebar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - d:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE D:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE D:\WINDOWS\System32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EssSpkPhone] essspk.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "D:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [WSAConfiguration] svchostt.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: 24Online Client.lnk = D:\Program Files\eLitecore\Cyberoam Client for 24Online\CyberoamClient.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://d:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://d:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://d:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All by FlashGet - D:\Program Files\FlashGet\jc_all.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download using FlashGet - D:\Program Files\FlashGet\jc_link.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://d:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://d:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmtrans.html
    O9 - Extra button: FlashGet - {D6E814A0-E0C5-11d4-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - D:\PROGRA~1\FLASHGET\flashget.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &FlashGet - {D6E814A0-E0C5-11d4-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - D:\PROGRA~1\FLASHGET\flashget.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - D:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - D:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: Microsoft WFC Forms Designer - file://E:\VISUAL~4\VJ98\wfcforms.cab
    O16 - DPF: Visual Studio 6 Extensibility Libraries - file://E:\VISUAL~4\VJ98\vstudio6.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.c...ls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1098018509743
    O16 - DPF: {A1DC3241-B122-195F-B21A-000000000000} - http://pluginaccess.com/Browser_Plugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E5D419D6-A846-4514-9FAD-97E826C84822} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{99BD0830-2D6F-4CDE-9333-79C997F6667E}: NameServer = 172.16.0.1
     
  4. techno_funky

    techno_funky da' Ťurntable ruleth

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hey well iam no pro at this but this is what i got let batty reply though he is a pro in hijack this
    :)
    WORM_AGOBOT.ZT
    Virus Type: Worm
    Destructive: Yes

    for more info

    delete the ones in color red
    but before you do delete them and before batty says :)
    put the hijack.exe in a dedicated folder
    like D:\program files\hijackthis\hijack.exe
    because then if anything goes wrong which i hope wont
    hijack this can backup and restore it back
     
  5. OP
    OP
    [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was infected by this virus a year ago ..i removed it then ...think its only the registry entry that is left
    mybar has been thr for quite some time now, guess adaware took care of that, but som files r still there, will surely delte thm.......
     
  6. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Remove these entries ...
    Atul had done already a good job :p .... I got my successor :D ...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did wat u said but its still the same..
    i hav to start explorer.exe manually everytime to reach desktop......
    and when i shut it down the end program window for explorer.exe comes up...
     
  8. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - are u able to get the desktop when u use safe mode for both 98 / xp ?
    - check event viewer in xp to see if u get any errors
     
  9. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Hmmm.. Try extracting Explorer.exe from your Windows cd ..

    Start > Run > MsConfig <Press Enter>

    On the General tab, Click on Expand File
    Pop in your Win XP cd ..
    In the File to Restore, Put Explorer.exe .. and in th Restore from, select your CD drive ..

    Maybe that will fix it ...
     
  10. OP
    OP
    [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i m able to get to the desktop in safe mode.....
    i don hav the xp cd i hav the set up....
    tried to expand file chose explorer.exe in the file to restore...
    in restore to chose desktop...
    in restore fromtried all the cab files but didnt get any file....
    i hav also tried system restore didnt work out
    :(
     
  11. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    since ur able to the desktop , might be a prob with some device / driver or startup prog . so try eliminating them one by one

    ok try these

    - check device manager for any device which has yellow or red marking . if u have installed any new h/w , try 2 uninstall from add/rem prog or simply remove from device manager and reboot .
    - run the system on bare minimum
    remove all devices/cards : modems , ethernet , cdrom , floppy etc only , hdd attached

    for 98
    - if u have 98 cd , remove all options from win98 add/rem setup . remove communications dial up and stuff . remove everything except essentials from msconfig startup and reboot
    - uninstall virtual cd
    - in win98 , go to boot menu by holding the ctrl key during boot and choose logged boot . once ur at the desktop and still have the error pres Ctrl+Alt+Del and choose restart . in win98 safe mode open the file in root partition called bootlog.txt , and see if any file has failed

    for xp
    - try booting into xp also with min h/w and see if ur able to enter the desktop

    - if u r able to get into the desktop . use system restore to make a restore point and run scanregw in 98 .
    - add each device one at a time and reboot each time
    - run a thorough updated virus scan in both 98 and xp
     
  12. beyondthegracefgod

    beyondthegracefgod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southside of >Heaven<
    Try disabling all ur start up files in msconfig
     
  13. OP
    OP
    [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i wil surely perform ur steps ..i m able 2 get to the desktop in 98...
    in xp i can see the wallpaper but only tht nothin else....
    do u still think it has somthin to do wid hardware
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page