Need help installing various versions of Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hi all,
Im pretty new to linux and would like to try it out by installing a version on my old computer. I have 2 computers and a laptop and unfortunately only the laptop has a dvd drive . The problem is that other than Yoper , all other versions of linux are on DVDS and I do not want to install it on the laptop either. Is there any way I can write the files I have on the dvd to cds and have my older computer boot from the cds I just wrote. The DVDS I have are the ones that came out with Digit and a few other mags. I think I have Mandrake, Debian, Ubuntu ( I would really love to install this one) and yoper. If this topic has been covered please post the link and Ill gather the data from there. I searched in the forum and was not able to find what I needed.

Thanks in Advance

FilledVoid

Who stole my Alpaca!
oops

Oops.... Forgot to log on before posting.

P.S. Is yoper ok to learn on?

Thanks in advance.

mail2and

Walking, since 2004.
using nero, u can burn the iso's from the dvd's into a cd.. if ur laptop has cd-rw....

otherwise just copy the iso's from the dvd and connect to ur pc thru lan and transfer

from there, again burn the iso's using nero....

FilledVoid

Who stole my Alpaca!
Thanks for the quick response. I copied 3 of the iso files for mandrake linux on to a system that has a cd writer and Nero 5. I tried writing just the iso to the cd and tried booting with it but it didnt work. Also I tried making the cd bootable andthen copy the file but that made the system boot into pc-dos...

Im pretty sure I must be somewhere close to the answer but at the moment Im totally at a loss. Would appreciate any further guidance.

Also I tried to install yoper but during the install process at the end it says No YOS boot media found
Kernel Panic: Attempt to kill Init and the system just halts. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

klinux

Ambassador of Buzz