Linux Links

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by sujithtom, Nov 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    Please post here useful Linux related links here. Here goes some of them:

    Support, Forum, Download, Man Pages, Journals etc.
    -------------
    Caldera Linux support page ( http://www.caldera.com/support ).

    • Debian Linux support page

    ( http://www.valinux.com/services/support/?session_hash=7d7ccc8f28c0f42cddc98da037d7875a ).

    • Gnome Web site ( http://www.gnome.org ) — Home of the Gnome desktop environment.

    • KDE Web site ( http://www.kde.org ) — Home of the KDE desktop environment.

    • Linux at IBM ( http://www-4.ibm.com/software/is/mp/linux ) — The IBM Linux home page,

    containing news, software downloads and support options.

    • Linux Documentation Project ( http://www.linuxdoc.org ) — A collection of Frequently Asked

    Questions (FAQs), how-to documents, manuals and online magazines.

    • Linux Gazette ( http://www.linuxgazette.com ) — It includes articles, columns and even

    comic strips.

    • Linux Guide ( http://www.firstlinux.com/guide ) — A glossary of Linux and communications

    terms.

    • Linux Journal ( http://www.linuxjournal.com ) — It contains links to newsgroups, chat

    rooms, online manuals, FAQs, vendor support sites, local Linux user groups and more.

    • Linux Man Pages ( http://linux.ctyme.com ) — A collection of the man (manual) instructions

    for various Linux commands and utilities.

    • Linux Newbies ( http://www.linuxnewbies.org ) — Help files for “newbies� (those new to

    Linux).

    • Red Hat Linux support page ( http://www.redhat.com/apps/support ).

    • Slick Penguin ( http://www.slickpenguin.com ) — White papers, case studies and other

    The following newsgroups can provide a significant amount of user-to-user help:

    • comp.os.linux.announce — Announcements of new products, updates, bug fixes, etc.

    • comp.os.linux.hardware — Support on hardware issues, including compatibility,

    configuration, device drivers and product evaluations.

    • comp.os.linux.misc — A catch-all for whatever doesn’t fit in one of the other groups.

    • comp.os.linux.networking — For questions about networking hardware, software and

    configurations.
    comp.os.linux.setup — How to install and configure Linux and add-on products.

    • comp.os.linux.x — Installing, configuring and using the X Window System under Linux


    Linux Softwares
    ------------------
    DLR Fresh Archive ( http://www.go.dlr.de/fresh/linux/src )

    • Freshmeat ( http://freshmeat.net ; love the name!)

    • Linux Apps ( http://www.linuxapps.com )

    • Linux Archives ( http://home.linuxarchives.com/software.html )

    • Linux Game Tome ( http://www.happypenguin.org )

    • Linux Games ( http://www.linuxgames.com ) :)
    • Linux Software Encyclopedia ( http://stommel.tamu.edu/~baum/linuxlist/linuxlist/linuxlist.html )

    • Linuxberg/Tucows Linux ( http://linux.tucows.com )

    • Slashdot ( http://slashdot.org )

    Beyond merely software, these sites also carry Linux books. For

    extensive list of Linux books, try O’Reilly & Associates ( http://linux.oreilly.com ).

    P.S. GnuRag: Plz make this post sticky if you can. :D
     
  2. nixcraft

    nixcraft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BIOS
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page