Lenovo Y510P SLI review

sgt_dawg

Right off the assembly line
Hello,
I am new to DigitForum and this will be a review of my Lenovo Y510P SLI.

Specification:
i7 4700MQ
8GB RAM
1TB HDD
GT750M SLI
FHD Anti-glare Display
No ODD
Windows 8 64bit

Appearance
This laptop looks absolutely AMAZING!!! especially those Red Backlit keyboard.
It resembles like the Y500, hence Y500 users wont probably find anything new in the overall appearance.
The display is very bright and it is a non-glare screen.
View attachment 12088

Keyboard and Touchpad
This laptop features backlit island-style keyboard with red gloss.
The keys provide good tactile feedback and feels good while typing.
Due to the inclusion of Numpad, Lenovo shrank Enter,Right Shift and Backspace key which you will get used to it soon.
The Synaptics Trackpad is flawless and glides smooth.
View attachment 12089View attachment 12090

Ports and Sound
The IdeaPad Y510p has a standard selection of ports, including a VGA, Ethernet, HDMI-out and two USB 3.0 ports on the left, and a headphone jack and microphone jack and an Always-ON USB 2.0 on the right.
Left:
View attachment 12093View attachment 12095
Right:
View attachment 12092
Despite the small sized speakers, Lenovo has provided Dolby Home Theater-certified JBL speakers.
Trust me guys this is the best laptop speaker ever in this range.
It easily beats Dell's Waves MaxxAudio and HP's Beats speakers.
View attachment 12096

Performance
CPU:
It performed well when compared to my desktop(2nd gen i7 2600k) and scored 15317 on geekbench 2 compared to 13668 on my desktop.
View attachment 12097
PCMARK7 scores of 4711
3DMARK scores of 4697 in performance presets View attachment 12091

GPU:
The GT750M SLI handles most of the games thrown at it.
Played Battlefield 3 with everything maxed out on Ultra and getting 30+ frames. At High settings getting 55+ frames.
Fifa 2013 with seamless frames. Will benchmark with other games soon

HDD: