Internet through Reliance/TATA phones

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by prashantbhat25, May 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prashantbhat25

    prashantbhat25 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Borivali, Mumbai
    Hi Everybody

    I am planning to get a Reliance / TATA internet connection through Fixed wirelss phone. I wanted to know if P2P softwares like eMule can be used with Reliance / Tata connections.
    Please let me know if anybody is using eMule or Kaaza with Reliance / TATA internet connections


    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    it's internet and u can use anything u like...
    but the speed is too slow ... so i dont think it's worth

    fixed internet is better/faster/cheaper
     
  3. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Who said that the speed is too slow?
    Man, Reliance gives the BEST internet speed, i hv even seen!
    I hv a Reliance FWP (LG LSP 350R) too and i get gr8 speed and more than 10Kbps d/l speed...
     
  4. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Hey c'mon! It definitely isn't the best. DataOne has better speeds.
     
  5. deepgeek2

    deepgeek2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in .Net
    Agreed.
    Dataone has much better speeds. :lol:
     
  6. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    We r talking about Dial-up connection here, not the Broadband... :)
     
  7. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    You claimed that it gave the best internet speed you have ever seen. Can't spot the word 'dial-up'. :p
     
  8. saintdark

    saintdark New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Void Thoughts
    I have the Reliance ZTE Sierra Card 144 kbps unlimited 1500/mnth, dl(14-16kBps), its on p2p whole night.. works like a breeze.
    Regards
    Rej
     
  9. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Very funny!
    bcoz the author of the post was talking about Reliance FWP...
     
  10. phatratt

    phatratt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mysore
    i used reliance dial-up conn,using a lg cdma phone.Its a complete loss,a thousand odd bucks for the data cable,nearly 24 bucks during peak hours and a pathetic speed at an average of 4KBps.30mins of browsing the net on a reliance dial up is equal to 5mins on a broadband.
     
  11. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    yeah LG LSP 350 R/T is good... but ming u... reliance dont have the 1500 plan any more... tata still has it... but new customer cant have reliance unlimited 1500 over any phone, but reliance 1500 can be taken with R connect card only...

    anyway TATA also a good option but here in Kolkata we get around 8-10 KBPS download speed....
     
  12. OP
    OP
    prashantbhat25

    prashantbhat25 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Borivali, Mumbai
    hey guys

    Thanks to all of you for their views. I had inquired at Reliance Webworld, they said they have nights unlimited package which i think suits me as during the day i'll be at office. They said that it would cost abt 400 - 500 Rs something for this package. They said it includes the monthly rental for the phone.

    I think I might get good speed at my place as we have a Reliance antennae on our building terrace. (the place i live is like a no man's land, no other operator is providing ISP services here. In the surrounding areas, we have sify, but nothing in my area.)
    I wanted to know if there are any fine print, some hidden clause for this type of net connection. I want to use net mainly for P2P software.
     
  13. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    OK, there's no need to take offence, man! :)

    BTW, dial-up just sucks IMHO. My brother in Kolkata had the Reliance connection and it was as slow as, if not slower, than a tortoise. Honestly, if it were any slower, it would've been going backwards!
     
  14. bunny01in

    bunny01in New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey man I would like to recomend Sify broad band instead of tata/reliance dialup (sify has been giving me constant 14 - 20 kbps)
     
  15. plsoft

    plsoft New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's all bout money, more money more kbps less money less kbps.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page