Install Kaspersky with ZoneAlarm

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by Akshay, May 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Akshay

    Akshay Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Pune
    I want to install trial copy of Kaspersky Antivirus v.6.0.0.299. But during the installation, kaspersky asks me to uninstall ZA without which the installation does not progress.

    I don’t want to uninstall ZA & want Kaspersky & ZA to run together. Is it possible?
     
  2. shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    Kaspersky Antivirus is a very powerful antivirus solution. Its the best in the market right now. But yes it has some problems, It won't install in a system with another firewall or anti-virus already installed in that system. You have to uninstall ZA and then proceed with Kaspersky installation.

    Regards,
    Shovik.
     
  3. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    .............and then try to install the za firewall.
     
  4. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    I am currently running KAV v 6.0.299 with zap without any problem.
    I think u are using Zone alarm antivirus or Zone alarm security suite..thats why the problem is occurring.
    Just uninstall za,install kav then try to install zap..it just might work but remember to install za in custom mode keeping the av off
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Akshay

    Akshay Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Pune
    ZAP AV is off. Is there no other way to install KAV without first uninstalling ZAP?
     
  6. shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    it doesnot matter if the ZA AV is turned off, the fact is that when you try to install Kaspersky Antivirus it by itself scans for any footprint of a previously installed antivirus, so it detects the footprint of the ZA AV from your Hard Drive and refuses to install.

    regards,
    Shovik.
     
  7. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    I just switched to KAV 6.0.300 yesterday

    Previously, I used ZoneAlarm Pro Firewall & NAV 2005, during installation it said to uninstall NAV 2005, but nothing about ZAP, so i just uninstall NAV 2005, rebooted & cleaned the folders. Then install KAV with ZAP disabled & no problems at all

    However, i disabled Protective Defence accept for Office guard, ZAP does that
     
  8. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    Well gx u are using v 6.0.300 in this version kaspersky temporarily disabled conflicting software detection for some proggies.I think zap is one of them
    Akshay u can download the new version which i think will solve ur problem
     
  9. hermit

    hermit New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dont try that combination i tried and screwed my system . it restarts , system behaves as alien
     
  10. hermit

    hermit New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    instead try KAV + Outpost u will love the combi .
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Akshay

    Akshay Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Pune
    getting negative reviews for ZAP + KAV... So shud I go for KAV or stick to Avast?

    Of late I have been having prb. with Avast. It detects virus bt cant clean/repair it. NAV never failed to clean/repair a virus.

    I dont want to give up ZAP. Is panda AV gud?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page