IDE that Supports Assembly language programming?

tkin

Back to school!!
Can anyone tell me an IDE that can be used to develop programs using assembly language? Currently I'm using notepad and Tasm.exe/Tlink.exe and running through command prompt but an IDE would be better.

Vyom

The Power of x480
Staff member
Admin
(Little) Offtopic:
I am a 3rd sem student of MCA. Am not able to clear the exam of Assembly Language from 1st sem. I think I am good in C++. But Assembly, just seems too complex to understand. Dont know where to even begin!
It would be helpful if fellow members can guide me to a start. Maybe in the form of an easy ebook, or a tutorial etc.

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
(Little) Offtopic:
I am a 3rd sem student of MCA. Am not able to clear the exam of Assembly Language from 1st sem. I think I am good in C++. But Assembly, just seems too complex to understand. Dont know where to even begin!
It would be helpful if fellow members can guide me to a start. Maybe in the form of an easy ebook, or a tutorial etc.

Which microprocessor?? I guess 8085 or 8086, try Gaonkar, BTW try to get an Emulator, practice on it and you'll be easy going. :)

OP
tkin

tkin

Back to school!!
Which microprocessor?? I guess 8085 or 8086, try Gaonkar, BTW try to get an Emulator, practice on it and you'll be easy going. :)
I've got Geany, but how do I set it up with Tasm? I'm a total noob at this, just ran this code with Geany and got an error "Create Process failed" and its being compiled with Nasm.

This is the code:
.model small
.data

v1 db 'Enter 1st String(Max 20 char)','$'
v2 db 'Enter 2nd String(Max 20 char)','$'
v3 db 'Equal','$'
v4 db 'Not Equal','$'
v5 db '$'
s1 db 20 dup(' ')
s2 db 20 dup(' ')

.code
begin:

MOV AX,@data
MOV DS,AX

MOV AH,09H
LEA DX,v1
INT 21H

MOV AH,3FH
MOV BX,00H
MOV CX,20H
LEA DX,s1
INT 21H

MOV AH,09H
LEA DX,v2
INT 21H

MOV AH,3FH
MOV BX,00H
MOV CX,20H
LEA DX,s2
INT 21H

MOV AH,09H
LEA DX,s1
INT 21H

MOV AH,09H
LEA DX,s2
INT 21H