How can this be possible?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by NagpurDaMunda, Jul 16, 2006.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NagpurDaMunda

    NagpurDaMunda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    come on u know it
    How can this be possible?

    i mean 235 MB file in one 13 MB file

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Why not? Lots of file types are compressible to a large extent! I even have a 14 MB file that extracts to 2.5 GB!
     
  3. eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    GTA sans Cd extracts 4.56GB of data!
     
  4. pop143

    pop143 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing is impossible..as impossible itself says i'm possible..hehehhhehehee..!!
     
  5. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33

    Coooool comment... writting it down... ;)
     
  6. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u write all the comments u like,maybe a hobby.........
     
  7. killerz

    killerz MasterMind

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    i got a 1.4 mb office 12 rar file which expands to 700 mb and took me 2 hrs to uuncompress it

    NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE
     
  8. OP
    OP
    NagpurDaMunda

    NagpurDaMunda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    come on u know it
    i also wanna know how such large extent compression is done??
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    See basically, the PDF you might have, would have consisted mostly of text with very few pictures. ASCII packs very well. If you really need to know how compression works, read up here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_compression
     
  10. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    lol... i can give you a 4.8 gb in 29kb
     
  11. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    how man? kidding?
     
  12. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats impossible budddy,he's just makin fun
     
  13. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Actually thats possible! Just make a text file consisting of only a single char repeated billions of times, till the file size reaches 4.8 GB. Then try to compress it. It will have a *very* good compression ration. Such files are called decompression bombs.
     
  14. pop143

    pop143 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so finally..

    which is the best software and best method to compress afile..??

    any tricks anybody know...cus u share plaz..??

    bye
     
  15. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WinRK always gives an 'out of memory' error when i try to compress a 500MB folder using PWCM.Can anyone help?
     
  16. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    @Kalpik
    That kind of compression i only possible with text files... :p

    @rahul_becks23
    u need a lot of ram atlest 512... by the way what is ur memory of RAM?
     
  17. blueshift

    blueshift Wise Old Crow

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Inside the Pixel
    Never heard of 14MB decompressing to 2.5gb.
    yes it is possible to compress largely. I use 7-zip btw.
     
  18. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its 512MB RAM
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page