How 2 Install Ubuntu from digit DVD

Status
Not open for further replies.

speedyguy

Cyborg Agent
Im completely confused abt this... do i hv to download any image file or anything else from net or i can just go on install it from dvd(april 06)....i dun find d required boot image files as per readme....neither any setup or somthin like dat....im new to linux....already have xp sp2

plz help me out...

cheers

gary4gar

GaurishSharma.com
in digit dvd linux is given as a image file.that is *.iso.u need to burn it on cd with nero or any soft which supports image.in nero just choose burn image to disc option and point to that image.the images are made bootable.ones burned can be used to install.if a linux distro has multiple cd u have to burn each of them before u can install linux.

for booting from cd u have alter boot squence in BIOS. after that just boot through the cd and procced with installation

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
No you need not get any extra files from internet to install it. But, you will require few more files to make things like mp3 support work, install your favourite browser favourite media player, etc.
BTW, I suggest you get Ubuntu 6.06. The one supplied with digit is 5.10 which is a bit outdated and has one or two security problems that have been discovered. So, if you use it, you will need to update it from internet too.

OP
speedyguy

speedyguy

Cyborg Agent
k thanx tech but d probs is it wont b easy for me to get ubuntu 6.....i got this 5.1 from digit...i dun have any other source for linux...will giv a try

2ndly, i hv installed ubuntu in partion C: (ntfs)...which created another partition....but it corupted my xp boot...i had to fix it using xp repair, it made a lotsa mess....so booting xp is solved but ubuntu is not booting....it hangs after while loading...this is d case from very beginning i installed it...any idea abt this???

cheers

mehulved