help upgrading system

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by anni, Oct 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anni

    anni New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    I am planning to buy new processor, M/B, and ram for upgrade my pc. Budget is max 12,000. can anyone suggest me best intel processor, M/B and 2 GB RAM (DDR2/3) for me in this budget .
     
  2. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Intel:

    E7500: 5.5k
    G31 based board: 3k
    Corsair XMS2 2x2Gb DDR2 800MHz : 3k-4k

    AMD:

    AMD Athlon II X4 630: 5.5k (quad core processor) or AMD Athlon II X2 230: 3k
    Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H: 5.5k or Gigabyte MA78GM-US2H: 4.2k-4.5k
    Transcend 2Gb DDR3 1333MHz: 2.5k or Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800MHz 2x2GB: 3k-3.5k
     
  3. OP
    OP
    anni

    anni New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks, but gigabyte M/B are good one?. I mean is there any good intel based M/B also available for this budget...
     
  4. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^^hmm. dude. you need to get out of that "intel is god" frame of mind.

    for processors under 10k, AMD is the king. Intel mobos are good that's it. they are not at all interesting, not much in it.

    Gigabyte and ASUS FTW
     
  5. ssk_the_gr8

    ssk_the_gr8 Make Way the LORD is Here

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Old Trafford - The Theatre of Dreams
    ^^ would like to add MSI to that

    and seriously u have to get out of "intel is god" mindset :D

    for budget users like u " AMD is God "
     
  6. saqib_khan

    saqib_khan I M A *STAR*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Go with desiibond's AMD suggestion. Its the best bang for the buck config.
     
  7. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  8. OP
    OP
    anni

    anni New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One more thing my DVD writer and 500 GB HDD both are IDE based not SATA. and i saw that gigabyte or msi M/B, mostly have SATA slots not IDE. whats the solution. I cannot replace my both HDD or DVD writer
     
  9. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    they do come with atleast 1 IDE slot and you can connect two IDE peripherals to that
     
  10. hansraj

    hansraj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pune
    @desibond
    The config you have suggested is really nice but i tried to seach in the net for online stores, none of them have AMD 630 as well as MSI 785GM-E65 mobo. Then i gave a call to few dealers here in pune but no one has it yet.
    Can u tell me from where have u got the rates and availability. It would be of great help.
    @anni
    I am sorry for hijacking the thread but my case is just like you and we both seem to have similar plans so hope we can help each other as well.
     
  11. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
  12. hansraj

    hansraj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pune
    I tried to search in the same place.... this guy Mr Amarbir is the one who deals it. But I cant find the two items (the proccy and mobo). If iam missing the link can u forward it plz.
     
  13. official

    official New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A small town near Siliguri, West Bengal in Darjeel
    Anni go for the AMD config, its the best you can hav.
     
  14. hansraj

    hansraj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pune
    I am giving up the idea of AMD 630 and going for 620 as the former one is not available as of now in India. But while going thru the manual of Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H mobo I came across two things which my current old mobo doesnt have and seek help of u all for my doubts.

    1. My existing old PSU does not have a ATX_12V_2X4 supply pin, it has only 24 pin ATX supply and other pins. Does it mean I shall have to purchase a new PSU? If that so, which is the best PSU of 400W(I will never require higher than that wattage for sure) with this ATX_12V_2X4 pin.

    2. The new mobo has a port for North Bridge fan. My existing old Mobo only has a heatsink so where will this fan come from??? Does it come along with the GA-MA785GM-US2H or I will have to purchase it from the local store!

    Required the input of u guys to increase my awareness:)
     
  15. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    1. ATX_12V_2X4 is used for GPUs. mobo takes power from 24-pin power cable from PSU. so, you need not worry about that.

    2) that port for northbridge fan is made available for enthusiasts who want to have better cooling for northbrigde chipset by adding a fan on top of heatsink. again, you need not worry about this. if you want to add, you need to check what size is the right fit and get that one.
     
  16. hansraj

    hansraj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pune
    Thanks buddy ......... ur input has saved precious time n money.
     
  17. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  18. hansraj

    hansraj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pune
    @ Krow
    You have been recommending MSI but when i compare this is what i have to present. What is the basis for you to recommend MSI. The price difference is probably only Rs 200. I am attaching my comparison in the jpeg file and the links to the two mobos are as given below

    [img=http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/5996/fordigit.th.jpg]


    Link for MSI: http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=1&cat2_no=171&cat3_no=&prod_no=1864

    Link for GB: http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/WebPage/mb_081218_amd_ud3/data/tech_0801218_amd-models.htm

    If you can still tell me what is better in MSI mobo?
     
  19. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Attachments don't work in this forum. :(

    You tell me what you found lacking in the MSI board. AFAI can see, both have similar specs, if I am wrong then please correct me. Anything in particular that is better in the Gigabyte board? The MSI board is as good as Gigabyte. It also has a switch for easy NB OCing. If both are similar, then I would go for the cheaper one if it has equal warranty.

    If you plan to insert high clocked RAM's then Gigabyte is for you. But CFx is not possible on any board due to 1 x PCI-E x16 slot. Otherwise both boards are pretty similar IMO. Anyway, for a difference of 200 bucks, the Gigabyte is worth it, totally. If you are looking for a cheaper alternative, then the MSI 785GM-E51 @ 4.6k is also an option.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  20. hansraj

    hansraj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pune
    even i figured out that attachments dont work here so i have posted the image in imageshack. the link is given in the fifth line of my previous post.

    Hope u can go thru the tabular comparison which i had made. I though for a difference of 200 bucks i should go for gigabyte. And yes ... I do want to keep the option open for higher freq of ram in future so biased towards gigabyte.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page