1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

help me choose my new rig

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by pikachu, Aug 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pikachu

    pikachu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi
    please suggest the best config at a budget of 30,000
    processor should be Phenom X4 with good graphic card


    thanks in advance
     
  2. -anmol-

    -anmol- New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What all do you need within that Rs 30.000? Do not post vague questions.
     
  3. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Phenom II X2 545 @ 5k OR Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.4k
    Gigabyte MA78GM-US2H @ 4.5k
    2x2GB Kingston RAM @ 2.5k
    GTS 250 512MB @ 7.3k OR HD4850 @ 6.5k OR 9600GT @ 5k [As budget permits]
    Corsair VX450W @ 4k
    Seagate 7200.12/Samsung Spinpoint F2 Ecogreen 500GB @ 2.7k
    CM Elite 334 @ 2k
    19" LCD Monitor @ 6.5-7k.
    Altec Lansing BXR1121 @ 1.1k
    Kbd + Mouse = Rs.600


    What do you need the PC for? Please let us know. Also, if you already have a monitor, then u cn spend the remaining money on decent GFX too.
     
  4. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    @pikachu, X4 and good graphics in 30k? that's difficult.

    do you want monitor UPS and speakers too or is it just the CPU?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    pikachu

    pikachu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i know my budget is very less but suppose that u are going to buy it for yourself, what will u buy in that limit?

    no need UPS (already got APC 500VA) and PSU (already have a POV 400W Black Diamond Power Supply)

    no need speakers too
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    and harddisk too :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009
  6. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Phenom II X2 545 @ 5k OR Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.4k
    Gigabyte MA78GM-US2H @ 4.5k
    2x2GB Kingston RAM @ 2.5k
    GTS 250 512MB @ 7.3k
    CM Elite 334 @ 2k
    Dell 19" LCD Monitor @ 6.5-7k.
    Kbd + Mouse = Rs.600
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    ADD: I dont know if ur PSU will b able to handle the GTS 250 or not. Best ask sm1 else over here if they trust the POV 400W.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009
  7. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    I would say add 500 more and get 955BE. I would say change your PSU to Corsair VX450W over POV.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    pikachu

    pikachu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    how bout Zebronics ZEB 500W Platinum

    link here
     
  9. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    955BE??? You mean the Phenom II X2 550BE, right?

    Nonsense. I am saying one last time : Do NOT compromise on ur PSU as it is the powerhouse of ur pc. Bad PSU's can damage all of ur brand new hardware! Don't ever forget this!
     
  10. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    Yup don't take chances with the PSU. You don't want to fry up other high end components by getting a cheap PSU. Get a Corsair VX450 as suggested by Techalomaniac. :)
     
  11. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    That is true. a bad PSU can cause biiiig headaches. It didn't matter much 4 or 5 years ago because the h/w was not demanding at that time and nobody cared about expansion cards like GPU or soundcard. The situation is different now and many are going for certified PSUs.

    putting a cheap PSU is like putting metal electric switches in luxury villa :)
     
  12. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Oopsie! Meant 550BE!!! :p :p

    Yes agreed on PSU part! Don't compromise on that! The funny notion is that why spend so much on a PSU because their performance doesn't actually reflect in terms of speed and any increase in computational power of the PC! So people tend to buy cheaper alternatives! So a good way would be to set a budget of the PC and to set a separate budget for the PSU. More the budget of the PC, more the budget of the PSU. Including the PSU within the PC's budget would always make the budget of the PSU shrink!
     
  13. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi

    Yups...+1 to this..and the rest of the posters..recommending a good PSU.

    A PSU is what the system is based on. All the TRUST is placed on this component. A bad PSU can render the whole system useless. If I had a choice between a GPU and PSU...I would go for the better PSU and compromise on a low end GPU....! Or infact any component. No compromise on PSU.
     
  14. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    +1 to all whose who realise the importance of Lord PSU. :D
     
  15. OP
    OP
    pikachu

    pikachu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks guys
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    finally i made a choice

    ASUS M3A78-EM Rs.4992
    Phenom X4 9650-Rs.6606
    GTS 250 512MB- Rs.7300
    DELL E1909W 19" - Rs.6700
    CORSAIR VX450W-Rs.4000
    TRANSCEND 2X1GB RAM-Rs.1600

    please suggest a better option if any

    PLUS, might bargain around Rs500 :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
  16. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Dude! You gotta be kidding me!

    Replace Phenom X4 with the Phenom II X2 550BE. You can unlock two cores to make it a quad core. That would be so much better than buying a Phenom X4 as it is not a good CPU at all. Replace RAM with 1x2GB or 2x2GB. Buy only 2GB sticks. Get this mobo Gigabyte GA-M78GM-US2H @ 4.5k

    Otherwise very good config,
     
  17. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Biostar TA790GXB - 4.2K.
    AMD 550BE - 5.5K
    GTS 250 512MB- Rs.7300 (you can GTX 260 a thought, way better option!)
    Samsung 2033 - 7.2K (19 inchers are gone!)
    CORSAIR VX450W-Rs.4000. No change here!
    GSkill 2x2GB - 3K-3.5K.
     
  18. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Biostar boards have heating issues AFAIK. Gigabyte boards are very good and a major plus for them is good after sales service. But the plus point for this board is the 790GX chipset i suppose.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    pikachu

    pikachu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is my choice

    Biostar TA790GXB - 4200
    AMD 550BE - 5500
    GTS 250 512MB- 7300
    DELL E1909W 19" - 6700
    CORSAIR VX450W-4000
    TRANSCEND 2X1GB RAM-Rs.1600

    guys, any other idea?

    plus, am planning to buy a NZXT cabinet but cant decide which one :D
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    PLUS - will i be able to run Windows 7 on this config?
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
  20. OP
    OP
    pikachu

    pikachu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what about CoolerMaster RS460-PCARA3 Extreme Power 460W instead of CORSAIR VX450W? because there's a huge price difference, it cost only Rs.2425 and Corsair is Rs.4000
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page