Help in Choosing a Programming Language

jayantr7

In the zone
I am a student of std.7 and learning GW-BASIC in school...BASIC can't give me good results as I want and other languages will start from std.9 :x

I can't wait for that long[sick of BASIC].I am trying to choose some other good programming languages.[i know this ques is silly]
Desktop Application Programming and Web app making is my main purpose.I don't wanna learn many languages one by one and then choose...I just wanna stick to 1 or 2...

Which one should I choose since I am not an expert programmer?It should also have an option to import sprites etc from graphics tools[will use IDE's of those languages][GUI included]

• Visual c++[or just c++]
  • Visual c#
  • java
  • or any other
I also wanna make databases.So Which database scripting language should I use? Or other than all above,should I use Adobe products for all my things since they have a high integration within all programs[all adobe products.]Some other things to ask :-

• Is interpreter better or compiler?
  • what is distributed application programming?
  • Explain me visual studio.net briefly...
I will ask other things later...help me plz

Last edited:
OP
jayantr7

jayantr7

In the zone
I don't want to learn 10's of programming languages and then decide.Please help me in here.Is Visual Basic also good?

How are these? : Python,Ruby,Perl,F#??
Please answer with some meaningful answers.I want this help as I can't decide!! :flamethrower::newgun::boink::mallet:

OP
jayantr7

jayantr7

In the zone
hey frndz,please help me in this topic.... i want one programming language with the capability to integrating with a database language.....at least in total 2 or 3 languages[including DB,programming lang.,scripting lang. etc]....

infra_red_dude

Wire muncher!
Python, Ruby, Perl are very high level languages. IMO you should start with C to gain knowledge about sequential programming, then goto C++ to learn object oriented programming.