Help!! I am new to linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sankalp

Journeyman
First of all i shud thank u all linux experts for posting some useful info.

Now comin to my problem

i recently installed mandrake 9.1. Now (Guyz plz dont laugh) i cannot figure how to install softwares. :roll:

Well the exe files dont seem to work neither does any file with with install or setup written on it. Actually i was tryin to install softw from digit dvd.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanx in advance :)

harmax

Journeyman
FIRST , welcome to the world of LINUX where u wont find setup or install files for 99.99% of the softwares.
and the satisfaction u gain by compiling , installing an app the hard way and to get it running is IMMENSE , which i hope ull soon find out

please be clear on what u want to install

and by mentioning about exe files ,if u have meant those that work with windows then there is no way u can install them on ur linux machine. look for .bin or rpm file alternatives for ur fav software which u may find on the linux section of digit DVD or on the net

if u have yum installed the job is easy

for help on yum see the opensouurce stickies

e-freak

Broken In
First of all, u have to know that windows executables(.exe files) DO NOT work under a linux environment(atleast not directly).

You need to have .RPM or .TAR or .TAR.BZ2 files to install new software.

The RPM can be used directly to install new software as in windows thru your Mandrake package manager. Mind it that RPMs are system specific. So you have to download an RPM which is made for your system only.

However, the other 2 files have to be extracted first and then compiled for your system which is a bit hectic process for a beginner.

If you have a good system config, I would reccomend you to go for either Suse or Knoppix which are much easier and user friendly.

You can still search for the RPM you want at ....
*rpm.pbone.net/