Hard drive problem

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Buzz, Sep 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This morning, when I put the computer on I got the following screen(see pic) and when I restarted, everything was normal except that partitions 'D' and 'E' would not open. When I tried to open it, a message appeared saying that it needed to be formatted. Both the partitions were almost full. I have not done any new software or hardware installations and the computer was fine last night. Also 'C' seems fine and I don't have any problem accessing it. I have just this one hard drive with 3 partitions: C, D & E. I'll be grateful to anyone who can help me out with this.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  2. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Are you able to access them from command prompt?
    And from safe mode?

    Try and report.

    Attachments don't work here, so host it in some imgehosting site and then post the link here (imgx.com, picasa.com etc)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  4. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Goodness!!! That is a BSOD:shock: not a simple message. Do fear it like hell.

    Well, this is the explanation and possible solution.

    Source: http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/Windows-XP-Blue-Screen-Death-STOP-Codes-t43519.html

    As per the description provided above, it seems ur HDD is having some issue. Do run a chkdsk with autofix option. And post result.
    Do it from command prompt not by right clicking on the drive.
    Again, do it from safe mode.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Today I couldn't access 'D' & 'E' in safe mode either. Running chkdsk in safe mode gave a message saying that the drive could not be locked, even when I tried the /x parameter. However I managed to run chkdsk in Recovery Console - It did not find any problems, it just stated the amount of free and used space and some other statistics.

    How could I access D & E in safe mode yesterday but not today? Also if something is wrong with my hard drive then how come I can access 'C' ?
     
  6. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Its not that if u develop bad sector in ur d drive ur total drive won't be accessible. U may continue to access rest of the space as long as they are not affected.

    But, AFAIK, bad sector increases with time.
    I asked u to post the scan result, and u posted "some statistics"...now to help remotely, we need some info too.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Why /p??
    As per this site,
    Source: LINK

    Try with /p /r and post result.
    Even if u don't have bad sector, I want XP to show "0 KB in bad sector"... only /p does not bring such parameter...
    Please be patient and try it.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Somehow I feel ur disk has generated bad sector, but unable to show u that.

    Such problem I faced once, and later (2-3 months) the HDD just stopped responding.

    Would u like to recover data format those partitions?

    b4 this, can u do a virus scan with Avira, RemoveITPro, EMOCO AntiMalware, NOD32 (I ask to do all of these). Install-execute-un-install (optional)

    If yes, try these steps:-

    1>Get a linux live CD.
    2>Boot from it, access those drives get backup in some USB drives. Take only important files only, don't crave for something that u can easily get later.
    3>Do a low-level format. Delete all partitions.
    3.5> Try to get a Win98 CD and boot from it, go to command prompt and run scandisk in the whole partition (optional)
    4>Make new partition and install XP
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I do a low-level format? Also, according to this site; http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/geom/formatLow-c.html ; low level formatting isn't a good idea on modern drives.

    How do I do a virus scan? Should I install the antiviruses on 'C' and then run them?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any way for me to do a virus scan through the linux CD so that I can scan 'D' and 'E' as well?
     
  13. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Oh...okz, don't go for it then. Just delete all partitions, yes delete not format and then create new partitions, then install XP

    Yes...I guess, C is the only drive u can access now right?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will post as soon as scans are complete. In the meanwhile thanks, rhitwick, for all your help. I really appreciate the time and effort you spent in helping me.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Buzz

    Buzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried installing anti viruses on C and scanning but the moment a scan would begin the comp would restart.

    So then I tried Avira's rescue CD, but that would get stuck while booting. After that I tried Kaspersky's rescue CD which worked perfectly except for the fact that it took 11 hrs to scan about 65 Gb. It found a virus and deleted it.

    Now the comp is fine, D and E are accessible again and all the data seems to be intact.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page