Good UPS > 600W

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by asingh, Jun 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Hi,

    I just installed a 2nd HD4890 on my system, so am running X-fire. Now something I did not foresee, my current UPS : APC 650VA only supports ~390W. At load I am almost pulling 550W+, and the APC 650VA is not supporting my system.

    Any good UPS, which I should pick up, I guess one with 1100VA should be good, which can support a throughput of ~650W-670W...???
     
  2. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ^^

    wat PSU u having, corsair or Tagan.. ?? if u hv any one of them also, both are ACTIVE PFC PSU's wich means they will REQUIRE (its mandatory, so plz do not skip this) a PURE SINE WAVE UPS and a minimum of 1100VA rating UPS,

    so go for APC's SMART UPS range of UPS and u will be fine with the system setup.. :)
    -----------

    Cheers n e-peace...
     
  3. paroh

    paroh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    using apc rs 1100 giving 20minute backup
     
  4. OP
    OP
    asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Hi...

    You guys..mean something like this...

    It is rated at 660W/1100VA, priced ~RS. 5565.

    Here is the link.
     
  5. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ^^

    that is a BACK UPS range of UPS and that is NOT wat im talking about, but im talking abt this --> http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=sua1500i (notice the "SMART UPS" name in the UPS of APC UPS) :)

    NOTE: There is a difference b/w BACK UPS and SMART UPS range of APC UPSes,

    SMART UPS=Pure sinewave UPS (wich u need rite now, as ur PSU is an Active PFC type and they need pure sine wave UPS)

    BACK UPS=Stepped/modified Sine wave UPS (Wich ur PSU doesn't want, as later will create problems in ur Rig) :)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Oh..too bad for me..I got the one mentioned above...is supporting my system at full load now..! Jumped the gun..wanted to test Xfire out badly...!
     
  7. Blackfire

    Blackfire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also consider microtek 1000va
     
  8. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hmm.. so u hv a BACK UPS range of UPS... well, u (MAY) get sum problem , but not always.. :)
    Watever he may buy will be fine till the UPS is a PURE SINE wave .. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page