1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

[Query] Gigabyte motherboard RMA hurdle

Discussion in 'Service and RMA watch' started by ChairmanSaab, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. ChairmanSaab

    ChairmanSaab New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi peeps!

    So, I've got quite a situation with my Gigabyte motherboard which has a malfunctioning ram slot. Like every 10-15 days, the system would crash with vertical lines across the screen and shutdown 3-4 seconds afterwards. After it has shutdown, it won't boot amd throw constant short beeps which is for RAM i concur.

    If i pull the ram sticks, reset the CMOS and swap the sticks' slots (Running 2x4GB in dual channel), it would turn on fine altough my success rate is 50/50 with this method. Other method is to leave the computer alone for 2-3 days and it would start on it's own without touching anything!

    The main culprit seems to be DDR3 slot number 1 which is malfunctioning. The system always turn on if i use only one stick in the number 2 slot with 100% success.


    I was fedup with this and sent the motherboard to Gigabyte Pvt Ltd India New Delhi (Nehru Place) for RMA. They sent the motherboard back claiming everything is fine! WTH! They didn't even contact me to know about the problem.

    So, i contacted them, explained my problem in detail and couriered the board again. This time they were diagnosing the board via video conference in front of my eyes, I heard the same short beeps i used to get. They pulled out the sticks and reinserted them. It finally booted up.

    I explained them that this doesn't equate to anything and my problem lies in the stability of ram slots which are prone to crash at random times, an instance which can't be reproduced on-demand.

    Ofcourse, they were not convinced, now wants me to courier my CPU and RAM sticks to test it.

    Now, I've cross-tested all the computer components on an another similar system and everything checks out except the DDR3 slot number 1 which is a hit & miss.

    I tested the borrowed RAM sticks on my system and the malfunctioning ram slot fails to recognize any stick at times, tested my "own" ram sticks on the borrowed system and they all work flawlessly.


    Fast forward to today, even if I send my CPU and RAM sticks to them and the system boots up fine in their presence, I don't think they'll be willing to test it for 10 to 15 days for stability because they're failing to acknowledge that a problem can happen "randomly" and you've to wait for it.

    Another thing, who's gonna take responsibility if CPU and RAM sticks are damaged during repair?, is this procedure standard and conforms to Gigabyte's RMA policy? they're non-gigabyte components after all!


    TDLR Gigabyte India Pvt Ltd service center in Nehru place New Delhi is failing to acknowledge that a system can crash at random times due to a faulty motherboard and asking me to courier them CPU and RAM sticks for diagnosis and repair else they will send the board back without fixing the defect. This is despite my insistence that these components were thoroughly tested on another motherboard and found to be free of any faults. I don't know who's gonna take responsibility incase these components which easily cost 3 times the cost of the board are damaged during repair.
     
  2. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    971
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Don't send processor & ram sticks in courier,better sell your existing ddr3 ram & get a single stick of combined capacity to use in 2nd ram slot. Service centre people also can't do much in this situation because if their guideline say error must be reproducible at the time of checking then yours will never qualify. I guess only thing you can do is make a video when this error happens & show that same ram sticks are working in another system while giving error in gigabyte mobo. If even that is not enough then only the previous suggestion is left.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ChairmanSaab

    ChairmanSaab New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    @whitestar_999 I've already shared a video with them as proof, they don't care. After discussing with the RMA manager, i sent them the motherboard a second time but they still couldn't find the problem and claimed everything is fine. I'm in touch with Gigabyte's Esupport now to escalate this issue.
     
  4. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    971
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Let's hope they take this into account but be prepared to be disappointed too.I would rather buy a single 8gb ddr3 used corsair/kingston ram stick with bill & done with this hassle though.
     
  5. TheSloth

    TheSloth The Slowest One

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bed
    Can we all digit forum member agree on helping each other on social media? If people are already there on twitter then we all can share the tweets by OP about these kind of cases.

    Though I don't know how much of this will help as I think many members here are inactive on social media so barely have followers or contacts. Nobody follows me on twitter. Will those big companies even pay attention if they know we are just tweeting things to each other in small group rather than spreading it.
     

Share This Page