Full DVD display on wide screen

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ramborums, Oct 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ramborums

    ramborums New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have assembled a new PC with samsung widescreen monitor 933. Resolution set is 1360x768. Windows display fills up the whole screen but when i play DVD in any player, the display occupies only a part of the screen. This happens for DVDs which have been set to 16:9 format also.

    Could someone help in resolving this? The vendor says the monitor has no problem and it must be some setting.

    Thanks
    Ramesh
     
  2. prashanthgowda

    prashanthgowda New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    which player do you use?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ramborums

    ramborums New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have tried with VLC, Realplayer and WMP. I have installed XP codec pack. Could the codec pack be the problem?

    Right now i get a thick border of 1.5" at the top and 2" at the sides. That s like using a 15" monitor. The point of a wide screen monitor is lost.

    Does the DVD have to be a certain format for the full width of the screen to be used?

    Thanks
    Ramesh
     
  4. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Does this happen to a particular DVD or to all DVDs? Can you post a screen shot?

    Black bars on the top and bottom are normal, but not in the sides.

    While playing back in VLC go to the "Video" menu and make sure that "scale" is selected, "aspect ratio" is set to "default" and "zoom" is set to "1:1".


    If it looks something like this, its normal:
    [​IMG]




    ---
    One more thing to realize here is that the resolution of a DVD is much lesser than that of your screen, so to fill your screen, you will need HD content.
    Try playing one of these samples: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/musicandvideo/hdvideo/contentshowcase.aspx

    PS: I don't like codec packs personally. My suggestion would be to un-install it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  5. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    the problem is not with HD or nonHD content.

    afaik, samsung 933 monitor has aspect ratio of 16:10 and you need 16:9 aspect ratio to display video without black bars.

    if it has aspect ratio of 16:9, try to set the same in VLC. looks like your player is taking 4:3 aspect ratio and hence the problem.

    in VLC, you can set the aspect ratio in VLC. while playing video, right click -> Aspect Ratio -> 16:10 or 16:9. this will fill the entire screen
     
  6. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    I agree with Desiibond. Its because of the aspect ratio.
    Even the LCD manufacturers which once jumped to 16:10 are now reverting back to 16:9 for the same reason.
     
  7. aswin1

    aswin1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is a way around it in media player classic with Klite megacodec. In view menu choose pan and scan and select set to wide screen or ultrawide screen. The image will fit the LCD screen.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    ramborums

    ramborums New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got the LCD screen with VLC using the crop adjustments. just aspect ratio didnt help cos it only stretch the picture out of proportion. is it the right thing to dabble with crop settings.

    If codec pack is not a good idea, is there any other way to get WMP play DVDs?

    Thanks a lot for your support. Sorry for delay in response. Didnt realise my email id in Thinkdigit is an old one no longer in use.

    Ramesh
     
  9. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    This crops the image(video) & thus kills the joy.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    ramborums

    ramborums New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Visibly nothing seems to be getting cut when comparing the cropped image.

    Would I rquire to uninstall the XP codec if i need to use the Klite codec with Media player classic?

    Ramesh
     
  11. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    Most probably yes but don't worry Klite will detect it & prompt you to uninstall.
     
  12. glimadpe

    glimadpe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. VarDOS

    VarDOS 15.0 GHz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beside A Road
    the DVD will be pir**ed one with 3 in one movies, cuz only such DVD's show black border.
     
  14. prvnsgr

    prvnsgr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I toooo agree with Desiibond. the problem is not with HD or nonHD content.Its because of the aspect ratio....
    Technology is improving day by day...
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  15. OP
    OP
    ramborums

    ramborums New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    of all the solutions i have tried out, media player classic has offered the most flexible options. I was able to expand the display to fill the full width of the screen without altering the original aspect ratio. Most of the others that filled the screen also messed with the aspect ratio (display gets stretched disproportionately) or get cropped (part of the scene goes missing).

    of course authentic fillup of the screen is only going to happen with HD whose resolution would match the wide monitors.

    Thanks aswin1 and everybody else who supported me in sorting this one out.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page