1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Dvd Player (changing Region code)

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by Shikhar, Jul 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shikhar

    Shikhar New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    I have a Toshiba Home theatre system. Region code on my DVD player can be changed only 5 times. Is there any way to make it unlimited????

    Also, what is the region code for india???
     
  2. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    can you connect your home theatre to your pc?
    if so try downloading dvd region free and see if it works...
     
  3. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    for standalone dvd players ... no
    u cant do anything abt that
    but u do separately get region free dvd players ...
    sorry m8 .
     
  4. It_is_Andrew

    It_is_Andrew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    don't think u can make it unlimited for standalone dvd players.
    But if u have already made 5 changes & need to change it, the service center guys may make a limited no. of few more changes.

    Btw region code for india is --- Region 5
     
  5. irradiated_chicken

    irradiated_chicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i think da companies have some code to do dis......but i dont hink dey will giv it to ya.........considerin dey put it in place to stop piracy
     
  6. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    search on da net. there r sites that give u ways 2 make ur players region free-though they only have codes 4 a limited number of models.
     
  7. srj

    srj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BANGALORE
    yes u can do it

    THERE ARE SOFTWARES AVAILABLE TO MAKE YOUR DVD REGION FREE U CAN LOG ON TO DOWNLOAD.COM AND HAVE THEM BYE...
     
  8. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    but i think they are quite illegal...
     
  9. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    What the hell r u talkin abt ??

    Go here to see if ur model is listed.

    Also if possible see if u can contact any technician who can mod the player to region free. Many manufacturers release Region free firmware for their players on the net, see if ur's does the same.
     
  10. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    well i got my lg dvd and its region free.
     
  11. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    dude why worry about region free??? if you buy original DVD`s from india itself..... then you would never have to worry about region free...
     
  12. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    well dude have u ever given a thought about getting dvds fm abroad?
    during summer and christmas sales in the us and europe u can get original dvds for about a dollar each.even less if u buy in bulk.

    and thats where region free comes in handy.

    so dude, try and go for region free
     
  13. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
  14. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i guess i`ll worry about it when i have some one us or uk send me over some dvd`s .... as of now... i`m quite happy with the india dvd`s...
     
  15. sohummisra

    sohummisra New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    yeah...just search on google with something like your dvd player+region free and you'll get lots of results. for example videohelp.com. It'll basically give you a set of instructions to hack the firmware of your player (i think).
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Shikhar

    Shikhar New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    Thanks blade_runner I got my 'standalone DVD player' region free.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page