dual core processor???

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by ritwickgupta, Apr 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ritwickgupta

    ritwickgupta New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pune
    wot exactly is a dual core processor n is it really worth going for it????
    i also need a comparision like amd single core 3500+ = X%age of amd dual core 3800+
    plz help me guyz......think it will help a lot of ppl out here
    happy computing
     
  2. mayanksharma

    mayanksharma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida/NCR
    A dual-core CPU combines two independent processors and their respective caches and cache controllers onto a single silicon chip, or integrated circuit. IBM's POWER4 was the first microprocessor to incorporate 2-cores on a single die. Various dual-core CPUs are being developed by companies such as Motorola, Intel and AMD.

    And yeah it is really worth going for!though they are costly, but the performance gain over the single core chips is awesome.
     
  3. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reply

    Dual Core Processors are use full for multi tasking.They have 2 cores with 2 caches.Go for an AMD 3800+ dual core processor if you will multi task.Remembe in dual core processors you can open a number of applications at the same time without compromising on the speed.
     
  4. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    this comparison is not probably the best way to do
    a 3800+ is basically two 3200+ inside it... so now how will u compare...

    for all single threaded apps it will be equal to a 3200+, all benchmarks like super pi etc will give the same results as a 3200+ but it is not the same as a 3200+...
    at the same time it has 2 3200+ does not make it doule that

    hope u get my point
     
  5. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't og for AMD x2 3800+,I suggest wait for around for 5-10-29 yrs.Then go for the IBM cell processor,well it's not a dual core processor but has only 9 cores...............................................just kiddin!


    AMD Athlon X2 3800+ is not a bad deal
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page