Dev Board required .. what to chose ?

RCuber

The Mighty Unkel!!!
Staff member
Hey guys,
I need a dev board trying to figure out which one might be the best with maximum connectivity support. I have previously built embedded boards using 8051/52 as a hobby. now I want to get back to building application using embedded processors. Please recommend.

primary connectivity required - Ethernet, Bluetooth, USB. serial, I2C would usually come on board so I take these two as granted.

there are many options but im a bit confused which one to buy.

Arduino, BeagleBoard, Ras PI etc .. Lego? :-?

initially I dont want to spend much may be 4K , later I can go for boards up to 10K ..

PS: I will be rebooting on embedded after a gap of almost 9 yrs :p and I would prefer to program in C/C++

Last edited:
Arduino is your best option if you like a c based programming style, and if it includes serial I/O, then it IS the best. Rpi is also good, but I have no personal experience with it, ring LFC_fan, he has one iirc

OP
RCuber

RCuber

The Mighty Unkel!!!
Staff member
bought Uno from Simple Labs Chennai, still exploring other boards.. for future purchases.

ico

Super Moderator
Staff member
Arduino Uno is good.

Beaglebone is a nice option if one wants a 'computer'. It costs ~6K and has lots of GPIO pins and it actually runs a Linux kernel off the microSD card. So, you can also use other programming languages like Python.

Dunno about Beagleboard, but Pandaboard ES will require soldering a header if for GPIOs. These are proper "computer" boards and cost Rs. 10K+.

OP
RCuber

RCuber

The Mighty Unkel!!!
Staff member
I just got the package.. when I opened it up there was a plastic box :/ .. I was taken aback thinking that I got duped into locally made board.. but when I actually fully opened the pack did I realize the size of the whole Arduino package :lol: its damn tiny and took me completely by surprise!! will post a photo. good work by Simple Labs :)

Chirag

Cyborg Agent