CPU + Motherboard upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

gaurav_

Right off the assembly line
Shopping List:
Processor (open to both Intel and AMD).

Motherboard (With good onboard graphics - preferably should be of the type that can be used *with* an external card if I buy one later. With DDR3 support unless it makes it crazily expensive).

RAM (2 GB single chip - I might add another one later. DDR3 if affordable. Which is the best DDR2 available? If I buy DDR2 now can I use it *with* DDR3 later on?).

Cabinet.​

Compatibility:

I have the following hardware and would like to retain most of them:
Monitor: LG StudioWorks 700E 17" CRT (might upgrade to LCD in short term).
HDD:
Seagate 250 GB SATA-2.
Another 80 GB IDE (want to use it as a secondary HDD).
ODD: LG GSA-H42N 18x DVD Rewriter.

SMPS: Intex IT-2045S 450 Watt (24 Pin).​

Budget:
10000 to 15000 INR (might stretch a bit if worth it).

Usage:
I am a software developer and need to keep running web and application severs for local development. Add to that some heavy-duty IDEs like IntelliJ and Eclipse (and not to forget that I might be listening to music or ripping DVDs at the same time... I multi-task a lot). I might also start working on a virtual machine (Linux over Windows XP). I am currently using Windows XP as my OS, might upgrade to windows 7 when it arrives and if it's worth it. I am not really a hardcore gamer, but want my machine to be capable just in case I want to try some of the latest games. Apart from that I surf a lot and do regular multimedia stuff.

So guys n gals, any suggestions? This is the first time I am upgrading my Processor and MotherBoard. I have been using an Intel P4 2.4 GHz for the last 4 years. When my motherboard gave in recently, I decided I want to do this major upgrade. I don't want another major upgrade (cpu+mobo) for say another 3 years.

It would be great if with your suggestions you could also give the latest prices in Mumbai. I am eagerly awaiting your responses.