changing boot options in linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

confused!!

It's true Im not confused
Recently I installed Open SUSE 11.1 that was shipped in this month's Digit DVD. I am a total Linux noob but I was able to install it very easily. Now my problem is that Linux is the default choice in the boot options. I want to make Windows my deafault OS to boot . how to do it???:confused::confused:

Ecstasy

a.k.a VipER
Even I'm a newbie when it comes to linux but i think you need grub installed.

Any of the linux boys can clear this one please? :D

Rahim

Married!
Hum hain na :D
Graphical way:
Open Yast and navigate to System > Boot Loader and select Windows and Set it as "Set as Default". Click OK and thats done!

*www.dedoimedo.com/computers/grub.html

talktorishav

techspalace
very nice answer,
If you want to learn more, as pointed out but a member *www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=108879

OP
confused!!

confused!!

Ok got your point a_rahim..But now I am in a bigger problem. I opened YAST..it asked for my password..and ALAS ..it is not accepting my password. Now what wrong have I done here. How in the world it is not accepting my password..Has somebody changed it ..have I forgotten it..am I too confused!! between my passwords..I cannot believe I forgot my password when I have installed it 6 days back..Ok so LINUX is very secure..What do I do now..How to retrieve/reset my password..Do I need to reinstall ..I am too confused!! :cry::cry:Somebody help me:confused::confused:

Rahim

Married!
Enter your "root" password and NOT YOUR password when prompted.
You are logged in as normal user while "root" is like Admin a/c in Linux and root password is required to change system settings in Linux. I am sure you have created a root password while installing openSUSE 11.1 and then created a new normal a/c for you later. There is nothing to panic. Linux is different and it works differently.

OP
confused!!

confused!!