Camera for a total noob

prabhu.wali

prabhu.wali
Hi Fellas :wave:

I am toally new to photography(been using a P&S camera with automatic mode) and i would like take up it as a hobby and i am eager to learn,please suggest me something under 21k and also i will not be able to invest in kit lenses at least for a year

Anish

Spectre
From the word "kit lenses" you've mentioned I assume you are looking for a SLR camera. IMHO 21K is a small budget for a decent SLR. Anyways, I suggest you near your budget..

Canon EOS 1000D - 22.5K

Nikon D3000 - 24k

Sony NEX-3K - 19.5k

Personally I would suggest you to go with canon or nikon.

OP
prabhu.wali

prabhu.wali

prabhu.wali
well m an ameture and i've heard SLR is the best way to learn photography or m i wrong so in ur opinion whats a decent cam or should i jus go for super zooms

Last edited:

sujoyp

Grand Master
No you r absolutely right...if u have lots of interest in photography and want to learn and explore new things in photography u can definitely go for a DSLR

There r no bad DSLRs ...you can definitely go for canon 1000D coz your budget is 21k...you can even get a used DSLR if u r ok with that

Generally a dslr at this budget will come with 18-55mm Kitlens...this kit lens very limited capabilities like very less zoom, poor macro...but great for landscapes, potraits and party shots....
If u want a cam with all capabilities at start then go for superzoom like FZ150 or P500 else compromise a bit with DSLR and try to develop with limited resources

OP
prabhu.wali

prabhu.wali

prabhu.wali
yh i think i'll buy the 1000D and later buy the macro kit lense so how much will a good macro lens cost me

choudang

Padawan
^^ go to canon/nikon sites where you will get an idea regarding prices, further you can find it out in grey market.

sujoyp

Grand Master
A good macro lens are the 90-105mm range ones

Like Tamron 90mm, canon 100mm, nikon 105mm etc...the cheapest one among the best is tamron 90mm which cost around 18k