Broadband for gaming

Discussion in 'Gamerz' started by shakshy, Jan 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shakshy

    shakshy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Plz suggest BSNL tarrif plan for Online gaming for most part of the day [6] hrs minimum. Wich plans rite the unlimited ones or the others?
     
  2. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Others (Home 500). coz the download/upload speeds are far better in non UL Plans.

    but major downside-> you've to stay awake from 2/4am to 8am for the 6 hour gaming. :D

    i'd suggest other ISP's (Airtel), which might upgrade their services & they have lots of Flexible plans & the best Service Support
     
  3. OP
    OP
    shakshy

    shakshy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Airtels not yet available in my place. Without that night UL plan how much of hrs can be played in home 500.
    1 queston: how much mb's are downloaded/uploaded in an hour of gaming?
     
  4. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Home 500 happy hours (free d/l)-> 2am-8am

    about your question, maybe its around 40+ MB (u/l),

    you better have a good PC with atleast 512+ MB RAM, coz the game gets really slow during online gaming.
    once i played Trackmania Nations online,(free one), i could play for max. 20 minutes of SlideShow gaming (game got very slow), man my eyes hurt so much on that day. :D
     
  5. OP
    OP
    shakshy

    shakshy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I m planning to share the u/l plan with my friend, how will be the speed then,?
     
  6. BSNL has unlimited downloads. You can use.

    Iam currently using Sify Dialup. Iam unable to play :(. Airtel does not have the connection here. They asked me to wait. BSNL is only option for me.

    If i take BSNL i cant not go for Airtel because i dont have enough money to keep switching over and over again.
     
  7. Maverick069

    Maverick069 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    If you have Airtel, they provide gamer-friendly connections which are fast to connect and very very reliable.
     
  8. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    I am on home 500 and i have been online gaming in the daytime too :p . Mostly games on indian servrs , or locally with the friends of mine.
     
  9. Do you know any indian servers that i can play RTS such has company of heroes. I usally play only RTS.
     
  10. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    try kawabonka. I played on it long ago. It is still alive and functioning. Though most of the players only go for CS.
     
  11. Ricky

    Ricky Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I used to play game and most of the time, data transfer was more than 100 mb or so in 2-3 hrs of gameplay !
    Moreover.. 2mpbs doesn't matter much if ping is good ie. 256 kbps is enough to play !
     
  12. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    true, but not for every game (farcry needs 512 min) , and if you are creating a server for friends to join , good upload speed matters. But yes if the ping is not good , it doesn't matter how fast connection you have.
     
  13. runeet

    runeet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    yeah but bsnl dont have a stable ip address do they, the address keeps changing which hampers the online gameplay experiance big time, atleast thats what used to happen to me when I was using bsnl.
     
  14. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Which games and which servers ? Mention it here so that others too might join :)

    [​IMG]
     
  15. mayur_digitized

    mayur_digitized New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Hi fnrds, i wanna play aoe 2 conqrs on net with other players.
    but i dont have landline connection. can i use my cell phone for broadband connection. if yes wat r the options in a city like surat.
    assume my cellphone supports everything.
     
  16. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Trust me, you can play AOE on conventional dialup with 3kbps line :). I have played it and it doesnt lag much. Requirement for AOE:Conquerors is not too much but alas, Microsoft zone doesnt allow retail CD games to be played on its server. They have closed the service. You can try GameSpy servers. There still is some juice left but AOE is a fast dying game and I see only about a fraction of online players what used to be about 2 years back. I had a big clan called PhantomKnightsClan ( http://www.freewebs.com/phantomknightsclan/ see the site in InternetExplorer only for the scripts to work properly). At its peak it had about 800 members. The site is closed now as I lost interest due to busy schedule and many high level players switched to other games.
     
  17. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you ask me for gaming you must have atleast a 256Kbps connection for most new games, 512Kbps and up strongly preferred and optimum is 1-2Mbps. At the moment your best bet in an unlimited or night umlimited plan only.
     
  18. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    indeed, newer games need as much bandwidth as you can provide. If you dont have 192 kbps minimum with minimal packet drops then you cant play any of the latest game online. Gamers normally avoid to play with bad ping peeps. So, now that era of AOC is no more :). I usually play Q3Arena online with my 192kbps and get a ping mostly of 250 which is too bad in comparison to my US counterparts having less than 50.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Taran0000

    Taran0000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have anyone noticed change in ping after BSNL upgraded their plans. i m on 900UL usually my ping stays between 250-320 but now after upgradation it goes over 700 +. Have anyone having this problem??

    1 more question can u tell me the name of game which have server in india?
     
  20. Ricky

    Ricky Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    ya .. thats old news..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page