1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Boot Failure and Sudden Poweroff issue.

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Munez, Jul 18, 2018.

  1. Munez

    Munez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    I have almost 8 years old computer with below configuration.

    Cabinet : CM ELITE 310.
    MOBO: ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
    CPU: AMD Athlon II X4
    RAM: 2x2GB DDR3 ( Total 4GB)
    PSU: FSP SAGA II 400
    HDD: 500GB+1TB + 2 TB ( Total 3.5 TB)

    I have some strange issues from months , but I am living with it. When i boot the PC,

    1. Some time I only get blinking cursor and it either gets struck there forever or keeps reboting and goes to same screen.
    2. Some time it passes this screen, Displays Bios Screen ( ASUS MOBO screen) and either it gets struck over there for some time it reboots after displaying that screen.
    3. Some time it passes Bios screen ( ASUS MOBO screen) and starts loading Windows and reboots.
    4. Some time It boots properly, I can use the PC and then it suddenly reboots. This some time happens within one hour of using Windows and some time it happens after 8 hours of using windows.

    I am not able to Identify the root cause for this issue.
    Could it be PSU problem or MOBO issue or CPU issue or HDD (I don't think so ) or any other issue
    I am sure it is not related to OS because i have tried Windows 8 and Windows 10 , Both of them had same issues.

    Though I am planning to upgrade my PC soon, I wanted to find the root cause of this issue and fix it so that i can give this PC to someone.

    Thanks & Regards
    Munez
     
  2. nac

    nac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I had a very similar issue once. The cause was PSU fan not spinning/stuck. If it's not spinning, it overheats and reboots.
    If you can borrow working PSU from someone and test, do it. or
    Since you're gonna buy new rig, and you're gonna buy new PSU for the new rig. Buy one now and test.
     
    Munez likes this.
  3. rijinpk1

    rijinpk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5,571
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    God's own country
    this can be due to any components in your PC including HDD,RAM,CPU,Motherboard,PSU etc.
    1> To check whether HDD issue or not
    try disconnect all HDD except that one where windows is installed. Sometimes the issue could be with PSU failing to provide power to multiple HDDs. Also try disconnecting all HDDs and check with ubuntu live disk via usb boot.Also check for bad sectors in your HDD using any free softwares like crystaldisk info.

    2>Check whether PSU fan spins or not. it is time to change your PSU anyway. 8 years is a long expectation for such a PSU. internal components may get weaker providing more ripple/unstable voltage to other components and may even cause damage to other parts such as motherboard ,hdd etc.

    3>check CPU temp from bios. how long it has been since you applied a thermal paste last time? this is unlikely as you said you could work with your system for an hour+.anyway check this.

    4>could be an issue with motherboard. you will need an alternative compatible motherboard to check this.

    5> you can run memtest86+ through usb boot to check the RAM to see whether it has gone bad or not.

    I also had similar kind of issues except for the fact that my pc was abruptly powering off. the culprit was the motherboard and it took me a while to reach to that conclusion!
     
    Munez and nac like this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Munez

    Munez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you both for the reply.

    1. I have tried booting with only 500GB HDD which has windows, but didn't try USB boot only, let me try that.
    2. like @nac suggested, better i try the new PSU and confirm. For me it looks like PSU issue
    3. When this issue started, first i suspected this and applied thermal paste. But that didn't help at that time.
    4. I hope it is not. But anyway it is old so it is possible.
    5. Let me try that over this weekend, any tutorial for this ? is it part of windows bootable or seperate image
     
  5. rijinpk1

    rijinpk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5,571
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    God's own country
    running memtest86+ is just like running a bootable OS.you may download the image, extract it to a pendrive and try usb booting and check the on-screen instructions.
    yes, get a new PSU and test.
     
  6. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I'm suspecting the RAM.

    These are typical bad RAM module symptoms.
     
  7. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,765
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    faced such issue because of faulty ram slot before.
     
  8. patkim

    patkim Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mumbai,Pune
    When it boots into Windows, have you checked your HDD for any errors?Free Apps like CrystalDiskInfo can show you the health of HDD.

    What if you boot your PC without any HDD, not even system drive? How does it behave this time. Any bad sectors on HDD might prevent successful boot or hangs or reboots.

    Try re-seating the RAMs.

    My office Windows PC would randomly reboot. A bit investigation by IT guy nailed it to bad motherboard.
     
    Munez likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    Munez

    Munez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    @rijinpk1 I tried Memtest86 and didnt find any errors. It keeps repeating test right ? It displayed message saying that Test passed and no errors, then it ciontinued to test again. I also tried with Windows 10 builtin memory tool which rebbots and test ram. That also didnt show any error.

    @patkim thanks for the info I tried that tool and found that out of 3 HDD 2 has issues :( .. 1 relocated bad sector in each HDD and one more issue. It shows in Yellow.

    So looks in my case is HDD is the culprit ? Or it could be more than that ? I didn't buy PSU yet.
     
  10. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,765
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    1.the OS installed on any of the two faulty drives ?
    2. Try running the pc from the HDD which did not has any bad sector.
    3. Make sure your PSU is providing adequate power to all three HDDs and other components. Try running HWinfo sensor module while playing a game. Post the result.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Munez

    Munez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    1. Yes it is installed in one of them. And the third HDD is new ( 2TB) and has only movies.
    2. I need to create a partition in 2TB and try
    3. I have FSP SAGA II 400. I don't play games. Anyway, im planing to buy New PSU for my upgrade , i can try that .
     
  12. patkim

    patkim Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mumbai,Pune
    Also as I asked what if you disconnect all HDDs completely? If the behavior is still same you might as well have BIOS or board issue.
    What if you run a Live Linux CD/DVD or thru a Pen Drive, when there are absolutely no drives connected, does it boot smoothly to Live Linux?

    Is your System drive HDD having issues or only the other two?

    One more try you can do is create some space of around 25 GB (Preferably at the start of the disk) on your HDD that shows Good status. Assuming you have Windows 10 DVD or you have created a Win 10 install media as downloaded from MS, just try to install Windows 10 on a good HDD and check the behavior for a few days. Your Windows 10 may get reactivated when online or if not there's no harm in running it for a few days without activation. It will just prompt you to activate though but basic Windows 10 without personalization shall run.

    If the system is still not stable & gives you boot issues/freezes/restarts may be it's just a coincidence that HDD is also Bad at the same time when other issue cropped up.

    If possible share the screenshot of both the Bad HDD Status here. You may mask the serial number if the tool displays it.
     
  13. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,765
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    Since the PSU is 8 years old you should get a new PSU anyway but first post the voltage readings.
    Your whole system looks ancient ( no offence ) but adequate for a file server or media pc.

    Try your PC with only 1 stick of Ram and one HDD ( the new one ). Install windows OS on that drive and disconnect the other 2 HDDs and Ram module.

    Make sure ram slots are clean and try putting one ram stick and one HDD first.
    If the system is stable install the other ram module.
    Use the drives with bad sector as storage drives for non important data or better get a single 2TB HDD.
     
  14. rijinpk1

    rijinpk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5,571
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    God's own country
    then RAM should be fine.
    crystaldisk info showing yellow doesn't mean HDD is dead/culprit! It is an indication that HDD needs attention.your hdd could work for ,say,several years(My external HDD is still working even though crystaldisk info showed the yellow attention signal 2+ years ago. ) or just a few days depending on the SMART attributes(current pending sector attribute and reallocated count). First of all,take backup from those 2 HDDs. secondly post the screenshots here. Those HDDs are not recommended as main OS drives though.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Munez

    Munez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks all for the reply. I was bit caught up . I will try to load the screenshot soon.
    I tried removing all the HDD and booted from USB stick. And it always booted fine. But dint run for long to check if it gets turned off after hours of run.

    RAM looks clean.
    HDD definitely has some issue which might be causing boot issues. But PC getting turned off after hours of usage could be something else ?

    Anyway, This is what i have planned now.

    1. I am planing to buy a SSD and will install OS on that and use it.
    2. I am also planing to buy New PSU ( Corsair CX450) will try it with that as well.

    I will definitely post the conclusion once i try all the things. I will be busy for next 2 weeks. And hopefully by August 10th i will be updating my PC.

    Thanks All.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Munez

    Munez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I Bought KindSgton A400 120GB for 2100/- including GST :).
    Now i am using SSD+ 2Tb HDD ( new one which doesn't have any issue).
    so far no issue. But i have to use it for few days before i conclude.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Munez

    Munez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was little busy with work so couldn't post.

    HDD didn't solve the issue. I have a new SSD + new 2TB internal SATA whose health is in good condition.
    I still face issue where it reboots randomly. And some time it keeps rebooting after showing MOBO screen.

    I am buying following PSU tomorrow and i will check if that will fix the issue.

    CORSAIR SMPS CX450 - 450 WATT 80 PLUS BRONZE CERTIFICATION ATX PSU WITH ACTIVE PFC

    I hope There is no issue in using this PSU with my existing MOBO ad setup right.
     

Share This Page