Best developer laptop under 60k?

hrj

Right off the assembly line
Hi all,

I am a frequent reader of these forums, but this is the first time I am logging in.

I am a developer, and want to upgrade to the latest development setup. My current 6 yr old laptop is really showing its age.

I work exclusively in Linux (Ubuntu 12.x). I need to use IDEs like Eclipse working with really big projects in either Java or Scala. And I need to open atleast 3 browsers with 100s of tabs each. I have other applications running too, and I am always heavily multi-tasking.

Apart from that, I occasionally want to watch high quality videos and play a few Indie games.

My budget is under 60k (but I can stretch it a bit if necessary).

Which laptop would you suggest for me? I would prefer a core i7 ivy bridge based one. I don't need Windows and I don't need a discrete graphics card. HD4000 should be good enough for my needs.

thanks!

dashing.sujay

Moving
Staff member
Get Inspiron 15r Turbo with FHD. And do get a SSD by chucking ODD. final cost would be much more than your budget (~62k + ~8k, 128GB m4 ). Try to get discount on 15r, either student or employee.

nandu26

In the zone
corei7's will generate heat. I have been going through reviews and most people have heating issues. Also the cost is too high. above 55000/-.

Also you will not get HD 4000 with corei7. most corei7 laptops has separate graphics card.

Digital Fragger

A Functioning God
corei7's will generate heat.

Also you will not get HD 4000 with corei7. most corei7 laptops has separate graphics card.

sorry, you are misinformed.

@op
15r turbo with full hd is a good option. if budget is a constraint, i5 + full hd is better for your needs than an i7 with hd screen.

achyutaghosh

Journeyman
Get Inspiron 15r Turbo with FHD. And do get a SSD by chucking ODD. final cost would be much more than your budget (~62k + ~8k, 128GB m4 ). Try to get discount on 15r, either student or employee.