1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Another Upgrade query!

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by eagle_y2j, May 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    Currently my config is a 2 year old i845GVSR mb with 2.8 Ghz 512 MB cache intel processor,266 MB of DDR ram and Seagate Barracuda 40 GB PATA HDD and I wanna get my both types of memory upgrade for purpose of getting extra performance from this old PC for little bit of multimedia experience and Photoshop etc.
    Till now my pocket and me decided to go for DDr ram module to 512MB or more and PATA hdd at least 80 GB to make total of 120 GB .Can someone of u plz help me out to go for a really hot & worthy upgrade
     
  2. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Add atleast 512 MB RAM (Rs. 1800) bringing the total to 768 MB. Add another PATA 80 GB HDD (Rs. 2300). If you have an AGP slot, add a low end AGP card like Geforce 6200 (Rs. 3500) or a Geforce 6600 (Rs. 5000).
     
  3. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    @ drvarunmehta thanks but dude can u help me over compatibility issue of my MB i.e specific type of memory my MB supports
     
  4. 144

    144 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    classified
    An upgrade of 512MB of RAM is not adequate in my opinion. I would suggest atleast an 1GB RAM upgrade. Forget the HDD. In your case, upgrading to add another PATA HDD is not solution, as I would suggest. My reson being that, such multimedia exp. (if not for space req.) does not requre u to increase ur HDD size.
    If you have a seperate partition (Other than your Windows Partition), install Photoshop on it.
    Don't make your Windows Partition your PS Scratch Disk. You can remedy that in preferences> Scratch Disks of Photoshop. Better if you make a seperate partition just for scratchs (Some recommend that, yet I have not experienced a speed boost with it).
    RAM is the Ultimate factor.
    It is a different matter if you are going to upgrade to another HDD type with faster access speeds than your already existing PATA drive.
    And I would suggest you get a low end, but decent AGP Card. nVidia 6600 is excellent at a low budget.
    Make sure you buy RAM of the same ?Clock speeds - I don't think you'd have any issue then, but I'd leave that recommendation to someone with more exp. in RAM Modules and its compatability.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    hmmm...but wat about same clock speed ram how to verify still waiting for perfect answer
     
  6. azaad_shri75

    azaad_shri75 BE FREE

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akash Ganga
    be more specific on your requirements,your question is not clear on what actually you mean by both memories.
     
  7. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use Everest or Sandra to verify the type and speed of RAM that you have.
     
  8. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check which speed of ram your motherboard support. 845 series of motherboard generally support 333MHz ram. buy 1gb ram ,if possible stuck a deal with dealer to give him your old 256 mb ram. most dealer adjust that money in the new ram you buy from them.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    can any tell approx cost of 1gb ddr 333mhz module
     
  10. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    512MB 333MHz DDRAM module approx price is 2100 Rs for 1 year warranty
    buy 2 module.
    1gb 333MHz DDRAM ,single module is not easily available. it price is approx 4000 RS
     
  11. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    hey wats ur opinion if i change my current Mb to any another supporting my current PGA-478 socket 2.8 ghz intel processor and ram ddr at 400mhz,supporting both SATA and PATA hdd ,AGP and some other features...............Plz suggest any mb fullfilling above features
    <TIA>
     
  12. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    My current mb i.e intel orignal 845GVSR does'nt have AGP,SATA and DDR ram @400 Mhz so for all above I am planing to buy a new mb supporting my old 2.8 ghz processor(533mhz,512 kb) and tried to find it online but now there is somewat confusion i am looking for mb with a PGA 468 socket and other features but all mb which i am keeping my consideration specifies there specification to support intel p4 @ 800mhz ! do they can also support mine cpu

    I wanna do any mb linked below is of my use...............................http://www.giga-byte.com/products/motherboard/Default.aspx?CPUType=Socket 478&ChipsetType=Intel 875P or plz choose best for me thankx
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page