AMD Athlon 64 and Intel

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Retro, Feb 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Retro

    Retro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ::Geek-O-Sphere::
    No, this is not another of those AMD vs Intel threads, so don't start complaining to a mod already. As you see the best processor for a decent system at a decent cost now is AMD Athlon's 64 3200+, which comes @ 2.2 GHZ. While, Intel's neat and decent comes with Hyperthreading at 3.2 Ghz or so.

    As you can see there is a 1 GHz difference but why is AMD still considered to be good?? Is the power the same? Also, is there any news on the 4800+ here?

    Thanks
     
  2. hi

    amd is better.u know why there is 1ghz difference between amd and intel or intel produce high clock speed processors and amd not,becoz amd can do the same work at less clock speed at which intel do at highclock speeds.amd is far more better than intel now. for gaming i recommend amd and nothing else.
     
  3. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    for your info both the socket 754 and 939 A64 3200+'s have a 2.0 ghz clock speed and not 2.2 ghz as written by u.
     
  4. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    several hardware tests shown by reviewers tells that if the two processors are subjected to same stress the AMD processors runs at much lower temperatures than intel ones and hence they require less cooling that is y AMD is better
     
  5. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and more importantly they cost Lesser
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Retro

    Retro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ::Geek-O-Sphere::
    So, you guys are saying even though there is a 1Ghz, difference the performance is the same? Hmm...Interesting. Any reason as to why?

    Also, is there any Indian Hardware price compiling site?
     
  7. hotdogXP

    hotdogXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    coimbatore
  8. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Clock speed is not all the criteria, the two processors have diffrerent architecture, both processor do not do the same amount of work per clock cycle, am AMD is programmed to do more than an in intel per clock cycles,
    then there is also the cache layout,
    on-die memory controller,
    hypertransport etc.

    Numerous factors that all add up.
     
  9. nd4spd

    nd4spd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chhattisgarh, durg
    and what does the cache size shows about the proccy performance cos
    INTEL 3.0 Ghz has........................2MB L2 cache
    while
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ has.............512KB L2 cache
     
  10. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Maore cache is better, but chache layout matters
     
  11. wizrulz

    wizrulz GUNNING DOWN TEAMS

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    As u have mentioned 3200+ amd proc, its usualy like this, 3200+ suggest that its equal or/and better than intel 3.2 Ghz proc. AMD procs work like two processoer working in tandem so even though clock speed is less the same amt of work is done in half the time( not exactly half but u can say that) as of intel proc....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page