Alternative career options for IT Professionals

soorajdigit

I am 29 years old & currently working as an Android app developer for more than 3 years. I am not so much passionate about it. I learnt it then because I have basic Java knowledge & so thought it would be easy to learn compared to others. But many unexpected problems are there here like device specific issues, client pressures, issues from 3rd party libraries (I have heard that even classes provided by Google itself have issues), no idea to develop advanced UIs functionalities.

Now I had lost interest in my field of work & just working to prevent being unemployed for income.

What are the alternate career options for me for a tension free work?

Desmond David

Destroy Erase Improve
Staff member
Admin
tension free work
I don't think there is any IT career where you will not have tension. I am 31 and working ~9 years in software development/IT and I have worked on good projects and abysmally worst projects.

IMO generally "tension-free" is a function of management more than anything else and a little bit on your personal skill and disposition as well.

Failures in management such as underestimating the efforts required when promising delivery to clients or lack of addressing dependencies on efforts, etc adds debt that will cause problems later for everyone. In a chain of command, upper management will pressurize supervisors and team leads to deliver and they will put pressure on developers under them which can result in longer working hours or rework. The pressure you have is actually not as much as the pressure your supervisors experience. In such cases, I'd personally speak with the supervisor about the work pressure (if they seem approachable) otherwise best switch to another employer. Note that you don't owe the company anything and that you deserve a good working environment as well.