1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

AGP Upgrade Suggestions/Advice Required

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ChetK, Jul 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ChetK

    ChetK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ghaziabad.
    Hello All,

    Please help me with this... I've the following system configuration, I built 1.5 yrs back.

    1.6 Ghz P4,
    512 MB SDRAM
    MB with VGA slot.

    At that time, I purchased a "NVIDIA GeForce2 MX200 (64MB)" based chipset (PINE graphic card).

    Now, I'm interested in selling off this card and want to add another Rs. 1200-1500 to buy a new one. With respect to my configuration as mentioned and my budget, could anyone tell me the best possible alternative?

    I want to run Halo; Latest GTA; Postal 2 & other newer games with min. or without any fancy features turned on.

    Thnx.

    Chetan.
     
  2. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    u can get a geforce 4 mx card at that price. U shud be able to play most games at low resolutions with it.
     
  3. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    spend more
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    agreed
    get atleast an fx 5200 ... and i meant ATLEAST !!!
     
  5. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't you want to run Half Life 2?
     
  6. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    consider his budget yaar akshayt !!!
     
  7. Thor

    Thor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bangalore
    U can Get GeForce4 MX 400 64 MB DDR from S-Media.
    It'll run most of the games but games requiring pixel shader won't run.
    Price - Rs.2500-Rs.3000.
    I hv one, bought it in April. But don't thnk abt playing Prince Of Persia, Splinter Cell Pandora Tomorrow, etc..
     
  8. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    get an fx 5200 128 mb ddr... for around 3500...(i think that`s waht the cost is at lamington road ) not so sure about gaziabad.
     
  9. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Smedia is the most expensive company.
    Street price of xfx 128mb fx 5200=3300.

    Powercolour(not too good a company-bit useless)
    128mb radeon 9800pro=12.5k
    256mb radeon 9800se 256bit=11.5k

    WWW.XFXFORCE.COM [AUTHORIZED NVIDIA MFG.] 2 YRS WARRANTY PRICES

    GEFORCE FX 6800 ULTRA 128MB W/TV, DVI & VIVO 34000/-
    GEFORCE FX 5950 ULTRA 256MB W/TV, DVI & VIVO 24000/-
    [5 FULL VERSION GAMES BUNDLED]
    GEFORCE 4 FX 5900XT 128MB DDR TV & DVI 16500/-
    GEFORCE FX 5700 ULTRA 128MB W/TV & DDRIII DUAL DVI 12750/-
    [5 FULL VERSION GAMES BUNDLED]
    GEFORCE FX 5700 LE 256 MB DDR TV& DVI 7650/-
    GEFORCE 4 FX 5600 128MB DDR TV & DVI 7500/-
    GEFORCE TI 4200 128MB WITH VIVO 6600/-
    GEFORCE FX 5200 256MB DDR W/TV & DVI 5350/-
    GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB DDR W/TV & DVI 3500/-
    GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB DDR W/TV 3350/-
    GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 128MB DDR W/TV & DVI 3025/-
    GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 128MB DDR W/O DVI 2875/-
    GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 64MB DDR W/TV 2250/-
    PCI GEFORCE4 MX 4000 128MB DDR W/TV & DVI 4600/-
    PCI GEFORCE2 MX 400 64MB SDR W/TV 3250/-
    GEFORCE FX 5200 PCI 256MB DDR W/TV & DVI 7500/-
    GEFORCE FX 5200 PCI 128MB DDR W/TV 4600/-




    SR NO WWW.CLUB-3D.COM [AUTHORIZED ATI MFG.]2 YRS WARRANTY PRICES
    1 ATI RADEON X800 PRO 29250/-
    475/450 X800 PRO 256 MB CRT+TV+DVI
    2 ATI RADEON 9800XT 24000/-
    415/365 AGP2/4/8 256BIT BGA 256 MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
    3 ATI RADEON 9800PRO 14800/-
    380/340 AGP2/4/8 256BIT BGA 128MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI

    4 ATI RADEON 9600XT 10550/-
    500/340 AGP 2/4/8 128BIT BGA 128MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
    5 ATI RADEON 9600PRO 9500/-
    400/300 AGP 2/4/8 128BIT BGA 128MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
    6 ATI RADEON 9600 256MB DDR W/TV & DVI 8500/-
    400/200 AGP 2/4/8 128BIT DDR 256MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
    7 ATI RADEON 9600 128MB DDR W/TV & DVI 7550/-
    400/200 AGP 2/4/8 128BIT DDR 128MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI

    8 ATI RADEON 9550 6500/-
    250/200 AGP 2/4/8 128BIT DDR 256MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
    9 ATI RADEON 9550SE 5100/-
    250/200 AGP 2/4/8 64BIT DDR 128MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI

    10 ATI RADEON 9200 5350/-
    250/200 AGP 2/4/8 128BIT 256MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
    11 ATI RADEON 9200SE 3125/-
    200/166 AGP 2/4/8 64BIT 128MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
    12 ATI RADEON 9200SE PCI 4600/-
    200/166 PCI 2/4/8 128BIT 128MB DDR CRT+TV+DVI
     
  10. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    aahh yes that price list will help him best i guess
    way to go man !
     
  11. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Akshayt who told u powercolor isnt a good company ??
     
  12. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Darklord.
     
  13. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Darklord and the benchamraks in companrison to gigabyte.
     
  14. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Hmm......cuz the day powercolor lowered it's prices i went on to search the net for it's reviews. Plus powercolor doesnt change the reference design of the card much so u bet u r getting a design as close to the original as possible. And search the net u'll find plenty of good reviews for the powercolor radeon 9800 pro 128megs version.
     
  15. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have seen the actual benchmarks,and gigabyte is a bit better.
    Also, for 2k less when spending 12k you will mind if you don't have satisfaction of mind.

    ATI is the orignal manufacturer and sapphire to an extent follows on its foot.
    And,keeping the design same,isn't enough.
    You should use better companonents with longer life and better performaing parametres,like the het that the sink cleans ,the fans etc.
     
  16. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    So u mean to say ATi doesnt use better components in their cards. Most ppl tend to upgrade their cards in 3 years or less if gaming tech changes more rapidly .... then even a smaller life cycle for a card. SO i guess that doesnt apply. Neways i dont know what benchmarks u r talking abt so i cant comment.
     
  17. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  18. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I mean that powercolour might not be using good components,also that could also mean that they may not be able to be oced to that exent or lack a bit of performance due to capacitors.
     
  19. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Can u enlighten me on this plz ?? And i dont wanna know what are capacitors :wink: cuz i learnt em when i was doin my diploma in Electronics and Telecommunications.
     
  20. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read somewhere that there is no difference between radeon 9800xt and fie gl, down to the last capacitor and so thought that capacitors and all could bring about a difference.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page