Need a laptop within the budget of INR 1,30,000

Arun Prasad

Guys, I am in the process of purchasing a new laptop. I have finalized hp spectre with i7 processor for INR 1,30,000. Kindly give your suggestions on it or any other models with in my budget. Any idea about when samsung galaxy book pro will launch in india? Is it worth to wait? Also enlight me about the usage of convertible laptops..

Thank you

Arun Prasad

Fill this please:
*geek.digit.in/community/threads/questionnaire-for-laptop-notebook-purchase.156722/
1) What is your budget? (INR or USD) INR 1,30,000 Maximum

2) What size & weight consideration (if any) would you prefer?
  • Thin and Light; 12" - 14" screen
3) What are the primary tasks you will be performing with this notebook?
AutoCAD, and some designing software, ms office.
Never going to use for video or audio editing

5) Any typical configuration in your mind you're eying for ?
I prefer for Intel i7 processor with 16 gb RAM

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
a. Like: HP
b. Dislike: LENOVA

6) Anything else you would like to say?
  • Screen resolution ( 1080p (Full HD) )
  • Battery back up ( extended (5-7hrs )
  • Purchase place ( Local )

2) What size & weight consideration (if any) would you prefer?
  • Thin and Light; 12" - 14" screen
3) What are the primary tasks you will be performing with this notebook?
AutoCAD, and some designing software, ms office.
Never going to use for video or audio editing
Won't AutoCad rendering require good hardware and would benefit with a good GPU? If yes, then thin and light laptops won't be able to do that.
I prefer for Intel i7 processor with 16 gb RAM
Waste of money, get a laptop with 5800H or 5900HX. Might have to go with a gaming laptop.

aby geek

3 options here.
M1 macbook 16gb @ 112k
Acer predator helios 300 - 10870h/3060 @ 116k
Acer nitro 5 5800h/3060 qhd display(upcoming) @ 115k

Besides these there are a few other units that you can look at but they do not provide much value when compared to the above 3.
Especially when the student discount on m1 macbook is availed it comes down to approx 1 lac.
In that case msi creator 15m 10750h/1660ti @ 104k and asus tuf a15 @ 103k loose their advantage.

When we move a little further we have a great deal with lenovo legion 4800h/2060 @111k
But you already mentioned you dont like lenovo.

After that a qhd model of asus zephyrus g14 with 4800hs and 1660ti is available at 116k which again doesnt make sense as better options have arrived with newer hardware.

Beyond that hp omen 15 144hz 72% ntsc with 4800h and 2060 comes at 121k. Its newer intel model just got listed at 135k so wait a while and let the price stabilise. At the least the older model should see some price cut.

Also asus is launching zephyrus m16 on may 12 with 3050 and 3050ti that might be around your budget too.
And if they launch flow x13 2 in 1 laptop on that day too then its base variant with 5980hs and 1650 gpu will be 111k as well.

Arun Prasad

3 options here.
M1 macbook 16gb @ 112k
Acer predator helios 300 - 10870h/3060 @ 116k
Acer nitro 5 5800h/3060 qhd display(upcoming) @ 115k

Besides these there are a few other units that you can look at but they do not provide much value when compared to the above 3.
Especially when the student discount on m1 macbook is availed it comes down to approx 1 lac.
In that case msi creator 15m 10750h/1660ti @ 104k and asus tuf a15 @ 103k loose their advantage.

When we move a little further we have a great deal with lenovo legion 4800h/2060 @111k
But you already mentioned you dont like lenovo.

After that a qhd model of asus zephyrus g14 with 4800hs and 1660ti is available at 116k which again doesnt make sense as better options have arrived with newer hardware.

Beyond that hp omen 15 144hz 72% ntsc with 4800h and 2060 comes at 121k. Its newer intel model just got listed at 135k so wait a while and let the price stabilise. At the least the older model should see some price cut.

Also asus is launching zephyrus m16 on may 12 with 3050 and 3050ti that might be around your budget too.
And if they launch flow x13 2 in 1 laptop on that day too then its base variant with 5980hs and 1650 gpu will be 111k as well.
Thank you for ur reply.. somehow I don't like the thick bezels in Mac book and also due to some practical difficulties in Mac os. And the remaining models u have mentioned has 11th generation processor with evo certification? Also advice me about convertible models.. is that really a deal breaker.. never used one.

Arun Prasad

Won't AutoCad rendering require good hardware and would benefit with a good GPU? If yes, then thin and light laptops won't be able to do that.

Waste of money, get a laptop with 5800H or 5900HX. Might have to go with a gaming laptop.
As per their spec inbuit graphics is enough. Why u told its waste of money.. please enlight me

aby geek

You most likely will need a dedicated gpu. Never go with minimum requirements always try to be over and above the recommended config.

Intel has lost market to amd ryzen series, that is why @SaiyanGoku suggested against intel. Though few processors from intel like 10750h, 10870h, 10875h, 1165g7, 1185g7 offer good value at certain price points provided there isn't a better performing ryzen option at the same price.

Intel evo is a modern integrated graphics platform. Best laptop with it might be the msi prestige 14 with 1185g7 starting at 96k. You will have to check how good is msi service in your city.

So the configs I have suggested have either intel 10th gen i7 processors or Ryzen 4000and 5000 series processors.

Arun Prasad

If ryzen is better than Intel I can for for Ryzen also. Earlier AMD is not upto the mark when compare to Intel. Also advice me regarding this convertible laptops.. whether it is any useful or just marketing gimmick? I am from Chennai.. I dont think here MSI service will be good.. and also I want laptop with sleek profile n weightless

The M1 powered MacBook is one of the thin & light that meets your requirement & has great performance with good iGPU. Get that if you are fine with its limitations, like soldered RAM & storage, to name 2 major ones.

For Windows, stick with Ryzen 5000 powered CPUs. The i7 11th gen U CPUs don't perform near Ryzen 5000 U CPUs in multicore workloads, not sure how CPU intensive AutoCAD is though.

IMO this is the best thin & light laptop for you:
ASUS Zenbook13{2021} (R7-5700U/16GB RAM/1 TB NVMe SSD/Win10+McAfee/Ms Office H&S 2019/13.3-inch FHD IPS OLED/Integrated Radeon Graphic/FP Reader/1.4 kg/Grey/1 Yr.)UM325UA-KG701TS: Amazon.in: Computers & Accessories
Review:
Asus ZenBook 13 OLED UM325 review (UM325UA 2021 model, Ryzen 5000 U)
The OLED panel is glossy, not anti-reflective, so beware. It runs the CPU at 15W & even at 15W it outperforms i7 10750H, which is a 45W performance-oriented CPU. Its iGPU is ok, should be fine IMO.

Ryzen 5(Odd)00U like 5500U, 5300U, etc are all Zen 2
Ryzen 5(Even)00U like 5600U 5800U, etc are zen 3.

Or maybe its the opposite, i forget but research well before buying. AMD is doing shady stuff with their nomenclature thinking no one will notice

aby geek

Nerevarine is right 5500 and 5700u are not that impressive compared to 5600u and 5800u.

5700u had less points in few benchmarks on notebookcheck than 1165g7 so I found this:

*www.amazon.in/ZenBook-UX363EA-HP70...7AJFBKRQTT&psc=1&refRID=A8BXXZJD0E7AJFBKRQTT#

Other than this zephyrus g14 has a few options

*www.amazon.in/ASUS-Zephyrus-1660Ti...Q7FMCP7HVF&psc=1&refRID=X72R4R047YQ7FMCP7HVF#

Similarly 4900hs/1660ti qhd is 121k and 4900hs/2060 fhd is 125k.

Hardware wise lenovo legion 5 4800h/2060 is the best deal at 111k but its a 2.5 kg unit.

Arun Prasad

Thank you guys for ur valuable inputs. But please throw some light on convertible models and how useful It is.. am purchasing laptop almost after a decade so am quite outdated. And when Apple will launch 2021 model. I guess in 2021 model they are going to introduce M2

But please throw some light on convertible models and how useful It is.
If you want performance at lower price, ignore convertibles and touchscreen. Unless your work requires you to design on a touchscreen more than 50% of time, do not waste money on convertibles.

aby geek

Yeah go for 2 in 1 only if you truly need it. If you do, the asus zenbook flip 13 I mentioned previously is a decent option.

The rog flow x13 is confirmed to launch on may 12, if you can, wait for that though but Its price might be high at launch.

Apple might announce macbook pro 14 and 16 with M1X processor on june 7 for their wwdc event. M2 will come in 2022.

You can look into Ipad pro, though the pencil costs extra and the new m1 based Ipad pros will deliver after may 22.

There is a bundle of 2020 ipad pro with pencil for 125k but I am not sure if you will get accessories for the older model easily.

Thank you guys for ur valuable inputs. But please throw some light on convertible models and how useful It is.. am purchasing laptop almost after a decade so am quite outdated. And when Apple will launch 2021 model. I guess in 2021 model they are going to introduce M2
IMO touchscreen is useless on laptops. My parents have XPS 13 with a touchscreen, its good for few days, & a few rare times, but mostly not that useful.

Never personally used 2 in 1, but unless you plan to take notes or draw on it, I don't think it will be of much use. It has a niche use case though.

$hadow

Geek in making
IMO touchscreen is useless on laptops. My parents have XPS 13 with a touchscreen, its good for few days, & a few rare times, but mostly not that useful.

Never personally used 2 in 1, but unless you plan to take notes or draw on it, I don't think it will be of much use. It has a niche use case though.
And not to mention the amount of glare these touch screen laptops bring is horrendous since there is no way of keeping them smudge free and the moment you end up in a well lit room, god bless you.

Yes, glossy screens aren't that good. Sadly OLEDs are also glossy.

Arun Prasad

Guys I have checked the models suggested here.. but all are bulkier.. I need something thin n light weight less than 1.30 kgs. Plz suggest.. also any idea when the new Mac pro will be launched?

aby geek

Expectations are high they might launch macbook pro 14 and 16 featuring m1x during their event from june 7 to 11.

Tomorrow asus will launch flow x13 and m16 and zephyrus g laptops are launching soon as well.

If you want now then the previous year g14 has got some price cuts you can look at that. If you are ok with integrated graphics then maybe the asus zenbook 2021 can be considered.