Gutsy Gibbon install: help me with the steps!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

shady_inc

Pee into the Wind...
Greetings!!

This is my first post from Gutsy Gibbon.Using the LiveCD version given in this month's digit DVD.Now I tried to install linux,but have no idea what I should select on this screen:
*img215.imageshack.us/img215/5395/screenshotuz3.th.png
I have a 40 gb HDD with two 20 gb partitions and have 8 gb (C:\) and 4.5 gb (D:\) free in each respectively.Windows installed in D: drive.So I guess linux will need to be installed in C: drive.

Now,I don't wanna lose any data on either drive and neither render my Windows XP unusable because of some wrong options I selected during installation.So,please guide me in absolutely basic language since this is my first tryst with linux.

Thanks,
shady_inc

shadyEdit: By the way,is it safe to use net while booting linux from CD??

Rahim

Married!
You should choose " manual" option. I am a liitle tentative about giving help on partition issues as your Windows resides in D: drive, so i will let others give you the required help.
And yes it is safe to browse through the Live CD. Remember you are using Linux, so no virus,spyware,malware,etc to worry about.

infra_red_dude

Wire muncher!
shady_inc said:
Greetings!!

This is my first post from Gutsy Gibbon.Using the LiveCD version given in this month's digit DVD.Now I tried to install linux,but have no idea what I should select on this screen:

I have a 40 gb HDD with two 20 gb partitions and have 8 gb (C:\) and 4.5 gb (D:\) free in each respectively.Windows installed in D: drive.So I guess linux will need to be installed in C: drive.

Now,I don't wanna lose any data on either drive and neither render my Windows XP unusable because of some wrong options I selected during installation.So,please guide me in absolutely basic language since this is my first tryst with linux.

Thanks,
shady_inc

shadyEdit: By the way,is it safe to use net while booting linux from CD??