WinModem Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

khattam_

Fresh Stock Since 2005
I have installed Fedora Core 3 by removing Fodora Core 4 for installing my Modem (Pctel HSP56 Winmodem). The Pctel Modem was successfully installed in the manual configuration. It said that I should load three modules like this:
modprobe linmodem
modprobe pctel
modprobe pctel_hw
Everything goes fine and lsmod command shows the modules loaded. Similarly, dmesg|tail also shows the module loaded. However, I'm unable to configure a dial up connection with the help of KPPP. Probably, beacuse I'm a complete newbie to Linux. I have tried all the device options from /dev/modem to /dev/ttySL3 but nothing worked. Please help.....

PS: The modem runs fine with Windows...

OP
K

khattam_

Fresh Stock Since 2005
vignesh said:
How did you configure it.I have the same modem.Please tell me.

I tried everything..........

I tried the auto, manual and every type of installation. I downloaded PCtel Modem Driver from *linmodems.technion.ac.il/pctel-linux/welcome.html and then unzipped it and then in terminal, I typed in:

./configure -manual

Then, it didn't detect automatically, so I entered the Hal type as pct789 and then typed in

make
make install

Then, I loaded the modem like this:

modprobe linmodem
modprobe pctel
modprobe pctel_hw

And then I treid to dial with the help of kppp and I tried all possible devices for modem (/dev/modem, /dev/tyS1 etc........), but the modem didn't dial......

So I tried the following:
rm -f /dev/modem
ln -sf /dev/ttyS_PCTEL0 /dev/modem
chmod 666 /dev/modem

And again dialed with the help of kppp, but in vain............

Please Help

vignesh

Wise Old Owl
ok I downloaded the driver and issued the command ./setup I got the following .Please help

root@Blue:/home/vignesh/pctel-0.9.7-9-rht-4c.tar.gz_FILES/pctel-0.9.7-9-rht-4c #
ls
ChangeLog driver FAQ README setup src
root@Blue:/home/vignesh/pctel-0.9.7-9-rht-4c.tar.gz_FILES/pctel-0.9.7-9-rht-4c #
./setup