1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

What is the Difference b/w these RAM...

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by dabster, Apr 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the various latency of my 256 mb RAM(PC3200) are...

    Frequency 166MHz 200Mhz
    CAS#Latency 2.5 3
    RAS#to CAS# 4 4
    RAS#precharge 4 4
    TRAS# 7 8

    And for another RAM which I borrowed is

    Frequency 200Mhz
    CAS#Latency 3
    RAS#to CAS# 3
    RAS#precharge 3
    TRAS# 8


    Is the Second RAM somewhat Superior...???
     
  2. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those numbers represent the latency of the RAM chip. The lower it is the better.
    So yes, the second chip is better because it has a lower latency and higher clock speed.
     
  3. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    in theory, second one is better.....
    but for all practical purposes.... including most benchmarks.... they will be the same
     
  4. OP
    OP
    dabster

    dabster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u ppl are right..
    the performance with my RAM is not upto mark...Actually mine is 256MB RAM out of which 64mb is shared for onboard graphics and i just can't change tht setting(so effectively 192Mb RAM) ....Also it is normal for me to open multiple applications altogether(VS.net along with acrobat and msdn help along with winamp)...
    Here comes the problem while switching from 1 application 2 another....it takes a little time....And this time lag while context switching was less for other RAM....I am discovering it on my PC...

    got it,time to buy more RAM
    Any suggestions while buying RAM ?
     
  5. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    i cant believe that u can actually notice a difference in those 2 ram modules....
    something else might be the reason.....

    that little difference in timing canot make such huge difference that u notice it while switching apps.... not possible.....


    about new ram.... just get the same as u got.... thatś the best piece of advice...
    try to get exact same module
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page