Using Blackberry without BIS

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by raptorz, Aug 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raptorz

    raptorz Smitten by Computers..

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Hi all..

    I am thinking of buying Blackberry Curve 8900. I wanted to know if i can use features like Mail, IM and browser without activating the Airtel/Vodafone Blackberry Plans..

    The BB Plans are very expensive.:sad: Its far cheaper to use Airtel Mobile Office.

    Are there any hacks to make it work with mobile office? Any BB users here??
     
  2. Tamoghno

    Tamoghno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    26.6932 n , 88.423 s. Locate me on google maps
    Then why use blackberry ? Just get an e71 and use nokia email , awesome push email experience for almost any email account.
     
  3. MSR@THNIK

    MSR@THNIK New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you dont want to use blackberry plan or think its too costy than why buy bb curve you can get nokia e71 or even e75
     
  4. OP
    OP
    raptorz

    raptorz Smitten by Computers..

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Ok. Bb cancelled.. I will wait for the new E72
     
  5. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Why not HTC G1? or other android sets?
     
  6. nikhilpai

    nikhilpai Techans

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Technically.... is it possible to use a Blackberry with Airtel Mobile Office for checking POP3 emails & browsing net, etc ? I mean is there an option to setup an email account without using BIS ?
     
  7. k4ce

    k4ce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes , technically its possible ... the point people are trying to make is that you would still be paying so much extra for the handset when compared to a say, e-series for instance ....
     
  8. nikhilpai

    nikhilpai Techans

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    From what I have heard is that if you have a Blackberry without BIS..... but having a regular data plan like Airtel Mobile Office:
    1. You cannot use the Blackberry Mail client even for pull mail (push mail obviously won't be possible)
    2. You can't use the Blackberry Internet Browser
    3. You cannot use Blackberry Messaging such as inbuilt Google Talk

    You need to install programs such as:
    1. Opera Mini for Internet browsing
    2. Gmail Java app for email.
    3. Third party IM programs for IM

    Pls confirm
     
  9. Tamoghno

    Tamoghno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    26.6932 n , 88.423 s. Locate me on google maps
    ^^I also heard so . But i think if you buy unlocked blackberry , you wont have this limitation .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page