[Urgent] Unable to boot into Win10; no recovery disk present

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by rhitwick, Sep 23, 2018.

  1. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hi all,
    So I'm unable to boot into Win10 since last night. As no recovery disk is available with me, I'm unable to fix the installation.

    Background and my set-up:-
    I've two HDDs (SATA). One is of 160GB and one of of 500GB.
    Win10 got installed when both were plugged into.
    (My Win10 got upgraded from Win7 in that free upgrade program)

    Everything was done without issue but later I found out that the OS got installed in the 160GB HDD whereas the MBR got installed to the 500GB HDD
    (I've used that 160GB HDD for only OS and rest all data is in the 500GB HDD)

    Now, this HDD has crashed and even though my Win10 installation is alright, I'm unable to boot into system.

    Please share options for me.

    I'm looking for :-

    1. Fix MBR and boot into existing Win10
    or
    2. Somehow create a recovery/installation disk/USB for Win10 so I can (fresh install) it later
     
  2. patkim

    patkim Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mumbai,Pune
    One option is to head to a nearby cyber cafe with 8 GB pen drive. Download the Windows 10 ISO using Media Creation Tool from Microsoft. Preferably of the same bitness that your current Windows 10 is of (In case you attempt to use recovery tools). Using Rufus app create a BIOS MBR Bootable Windows 10 Pen drive. Then use it to either attempt to repair the installation or opt for a clean install.
    In any case make sure to disconnect the faulty drive and keep only the system drive connected.
     
    rhitwick likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Ok, I've access to a second system, I can try that.

    In the mean time I've created a live Linux USB and booted to system. My primary (160GB HDD) is accessible but the 500GB HDD is not showing up.
    Whe nI restart and press F12 for boot menu, the 500GB HDD comes as option but it does not show up in BIOS boot device selection option.
    Not sure what is going on there.

    Anyway, is there anything that can be done with this Live Linux USB? Fixing of MBR is my goal here.
     
  4. meetdilip

    meetdilip Computer Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Create a bootable DVD or USB using Aomei PE builder and then try to fix MBR from it.
     
  5. Zangetsu

    Zangetsu PM me for any queries in digirForum!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,053
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Soul Society
    if u can access the 500GB from linux then u can try the below command to backup the MBR and reuse it.

    dd if=/dev/sda of=/path-to-save/mbr-backup bs=512 count=1

    also try Easy Recovery essential.
    Easy Recovery Essentials by NeoSmart Technologies

    make a bootable USB from easy recovery and fix your problem.
     
  6. patkim

    patkim Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mumbai,Pune
    Refer this guide and decide which method suits you the best. You can simply download GParted Live and using testdisk attempt to fix the MBR as mentioned in the guide.

    Nevertheless since you have upgraded your Windows 7 to 10 and it might have added several updates, sometime later you can anyways download Windows 10 latest using MCT and keep a USB bootable pen drive or DVD with you that will come in handy for either clean install or any repairs.
     
    rhitwick likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    This seems useful.I'll try and report here.

    b/w contacted a data recovery shop here at Kolkata, "BitIT".
    They would take 350/- for inspections.
    And, to recover 500GB (if possible) may charge 5k to 7k.

    Diwali mein diwala nikal jayega mera!!!
     
  8. Zangetsu

    Zangetsu PM me for any queries in digirForum!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,053
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Don't recover if its not important.

    The recovery center usually replace the cylinder head while recovering the data.
     
  9. TheSloth

    TheSloth Don't ban me,pleash (G_G)

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bed
    Sorry I am not aware if it's good or bad. Is it bad? What do they do with it? Cylinder head is used to reach the address block on correct disk(platter is the correct term?), right?
     
  10. Zangetsu

    Zangetsu PM me for any queries in digirForum!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,053
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Its not bad to recover from technical specialists but only thing is the huge data recovery charges which in terms of rhitwick is above 5k. and if data is not at all important then no point of recovery and wasting money. with that money one can buy 2~3TB of new HDD

    Yes, they even recover the data from dead undetectable drives...As far I know they replace the Drive reading head with their working heads and recover the data. Even claim to recover deleted data or crashed HDD data.
     
    rhitwick and TheSloth like this.
  11. OP
    OP
    rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Tried most of these. Did not work.

    Only viable solution is now reinstalling OS.

    I'll try rest of the steps with Gparted....just checked, only Gparted option is pending.
     

Share This Page