Static Noise in Audio during washing machine operation

thatsashok

peace panda
I have a question that has been bugging me every weekend while washing clothes with music On and being a mechanical engineer my knowledge has been limited to analyse the problem (momentary discomfort) at hand and expecting that the electrical engineers in the forum will help me understand

I notice that when the washing machine is working there is static noise produced in the PC audio speakers & this noise occurs momentarily and exactly in sync with the time when the motor of the washing machine changes direction of rotation during the tumble wash.

Another observation I have is that the static noise (volume/sound intensity) does not increase or decrease with the change in the volume output of the 2.1 Audio system via Knob or increasing the PC volume.

My questions are
  • Why should a noise be produced in my Audio speakers when its audio input (Aux, no DAC) via PC are appliances that work on DC ? I understand that both PC and Speakers draw power from same home AC circuit
  • Is this phenomena normal ? the building I live in is Old (electrical wiring and safety features wise) if that help
I may be wrong in assuming some of the things, but would like to understand this phenomena in details technically and learn more about it

Looking eagerly for the responses

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
Seems like electrical interference in power line. Psu in pc convert ac to dc but speaker runs on ac only. I am not an electrical engineer though,this is based on my own knowledge so may not be correct.

patkim

Cyborg Agent
Note that I am not a subject matter expert but giving a general theory that I am aware of and some pointers for troubleshooting