Sharing Internet help needed

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by eureca_eureca, Aug 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eureca_eureca

    eureca_eureca New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bath Tub
    I got no idea about networking , i think this might be a silly doubt :) .

    What i got
    Running 2 pc with win xp sp2 which already has a network

    Local area connection ->
    Pc 1 (where i need internet to be shared)
    Ip address 192.168.0.1
    subnet mask 255.255.255.0


    pc 2 (where i have a usb modem connected)
    Ip address 192.168.0.2
    subnet mask 255.255.255.0

    this pc also have a local area connection 3-> with obtain ip automatically

    What should i do to share internet connection to pc 1 , i have it only on pc 2

    Please help

    Thanks
     
  2. cpyder

    cpyder CpyderGraphix

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on pc connected with internet (in your case PC-2)

    go to network connections - properties - sharing tab - check sharing on and then select the LAN connection to share it with.

    Now at this point, the OS might do something on its own, like assigning network address etc.

    Now connect a 'CROSSOVER' lan cable between two computers. The usual patch cord is parellel one and will not function. You will have to get one made.

    In the PC 1, keep the network address to automatic.

    Shutdown both PCs, start the one with internet first and then the client one.

    See if it works. If it does not.. in the Internet computer assign network address as 192.168.0.1, Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0, rest- leave blank.

    in the client computer, assign network address 192.168.0.2, Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.0.1 (note this is the address of PC1), DNS 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 (or you can use whichever DNS address)

    Check firewall settings to allow traffic through this.

    Follow the restart procedure.

    You should be on..
     
  3. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    right, you will need a crossover cable, otherwise buy a cheap network switch.

    But before that, which model you got check the model number.
    I think you will have a RJ-45 port in the modem, in that case you will just need normal lan cable which is also called RJ45 cable
     
  4. OP
    OP
    eureca_eureca

    eureca_eureca New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bath Tub
    I am connected with usb from modem to comp ,

    Cpyder ill try it tomorrow and tell u the results
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    I am connected with usb from modem to comp ,

    Cpyder ill try it tomorrow and tell u the results
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009
  5. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    buddy, I asked which modem, make, company
     
  6. OP
    OP
    eureca_eureca

    eureca_eureca New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bath Tub
    SmartAx MT882 , my old bsnl bb modem
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page