Serious Problem about Display......Urgent Help Needed

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by dissel, Mar 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hi.....
    I have facing a serious problem for couple of days....when i start my computer....it can't show any display....the monitor shows blank....i mean Monitor's indicator blinking like when it is OFF Mode....and the HDD's Indicator glow steadly....after couple of restart and power on/off i got the display...
    So...in the last week i open the box and check ....wheather the connection is loose or not....I remove and re-insert the Auxilary Power Conector(4-Pin) and after i restart the problem was solve....and it works fine as earlier time...but today i face again the same problem....
    So my question is where is the fault? May i need to change the SMPS ?
    If yes....Which manufacture is the best acording to my system?
    I use Intigarted Video with latest update driver...
    Or the problems lies in the Video Chip ? May i need to Purchase a Grphics Card ?
    if yes......I have AGP Slot 4.x suport....then my question is 4.x AGP cards Still available in the markets?
    and which brand to go for?
    Plz response.....Thanks

    Here The Detials :-
    Intel 845GBV MOBO with Intel P4 1.5 GHZ
    256 MB DDR RAM 266Mhz
    40GB+80GB HDD
    DVD-ROM Drive
    DVD-Writer
    300 Watt SMPS
    1.44 FDD
    2 Lan Cards from D-Link
    6.1ch Sound Cards (Techom)
    PS/2 Mouse SAmsung Optical
    PS/2 Microsoft Basic KBD

    N.B:-This system run problem free still 2002....and the monitor/signal cable is absoloutly fine....i checked it.
     
  2. nikdesign4u

    nikdesign4u New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    How old is your SMPS? What brand and power?
    When did u install dvd writer? Did the problem start after that? I think u r overloading the smps.

    2 HDD+2 DVD= atleast 300Watt Antec smps.

    Try removing the lan and sound cards.
    If possible try ur frnd's smps or agp card.

    For new AGP card
    all new agp cards r of 1.5V, check ur mobo manual for AGP port voltgage. It might be of 3.3 V.

    If it is supporting 1.5 V then any current generation AGP 8X card will do, but at lower speed.
     
  3. g_goyal2000

    g_goyal2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I agree completely.
    U'r overloading u'r SMPS. U need a SMPS with more power - atleast 400W. 400W SMPS are available in market but not all supply pure 400W SMPS. U should go for an Antec SMPS. It's expensive but will keep u'r PC stable. U may not get 400W in antec, only 350 or 450W. Go for 450W. When u buy u'rself a new processor+mobo, u could use that SMPS. Antec is good.
    Visit www.antecindia.com for more info..
     
  4. OP
    OP
    dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    My SMPS run from sep,2002 and it is 300watts Mercury........I purchase DVD Writer at Oct,2005....and the problem starts in last month i,e feb-2006......

    :cry: my AGP slot is 1.5 v...with 4x support
    Do you know how much voltage consume the Lan cards ?
    In my case i need both Lan cards......but i can remove the Sound Cards...in that case My Sounds gone forever...coz the intigrated audio chip totally spoiled couple of months ago......
    So what is the price of Antec SMPS 350 W/450 W.....any idea?
    My budget is max 2500/- to 3000/-
    No price list is in the antec site....
     
  5. g_goyal2000

    g_goyal2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    u'll probably have to put in another 1000 bucks making a total of 4000 for an Antec SMPS.
    No exact idea of the price.

    Even a 8x AGP card will work with u'r PC but will have to look for voltage rating (1.5 or 3.3v).
     
  6. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    Antec Smart Power 2.0 350W is for 2900 approx.

    ya and the Mercury SMPS is the culprit. 3 years is the long time for it.
    What nikdesign means is that u try using ur PC w/o thise cards for a couple of days.

    1.5 V agp is th latest, earlier was 3.3 V, but 4x is old, never mind, 6200/128 MB card should suffice all ur needs.
    check this link for AGP cards, do not go beyond 6600/128. and do not buy 6600 TC at all.
    http://www.deltapage.com/delta_graphics.htm
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page