RAM compatibility with GA-M68M-S2P

Discussion in 'CPU / Motherboards' started by adikumar2010, Oct 16, 2018.

  1. adikumar2010

    adikumar2010 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  2. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    acc. to the specs of this mobo that are available on gigabyte's website,it should be compatible with the aforesaid cpu as well as ram.
     
  3. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,109
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    99% chance any ddr2 ram(same frequency) from any major brand will work.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    adikumar2010

    adikumar2010 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  5. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    yeah it should work,but what exactly are you trying to do with these motherboards?are you building a new system or upgrading/replacing components on an existing one?
     
  6. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,109
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    As per support link on gigabyte mobo page link phenom II X3 720 is supported & as I said earlier ram should be supported too.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    adikumar2010

    adikumar2010 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for quick reply brother

    I have old gaming desktop which I am using currently for light stuff that I made back in 2009, its motherboard "Biostar TA790GX 128M" fried so I am thinking of changing motherboard instead of selling it for Rs.800 in Nehru Place. As the PSU Corsair 550VX, HDD and the cabinet is still in top condition.

    I can get this MOBO for 3K from aliexpress as I have coupons, but my brother is insisting me to save 3K and sell this old rig for Rs.800 in Nehru Place.

    I use PS4 now but I don't want to sell my old desktop as I might in future want a gaming rig again, for which I can use existing PSU, cabinet, HDD again.

    My old PC from 2009 : Gaming Rig under 47k
    (I did few extra upgrades over time to that when I made it, no point taking over it as its totally outdated these days and I can make this post super long telling you what all upgrades I did in last 10 years)

    PS : I was a computer geek but last 6-7 years I got into professional poker that's why out of touch totally. I use to be in lot of pc forums since 2008. But then lot of members from back in 2010 are inactive now, now I am back in Tech mode.
     
  8. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    sell off the cpu and mobo if you dont need them-just retain the hdd,psu and the other essential components that you want to reuse later.

    Also be careful while ordering stuff from aliexpress-make sure that you are buying from a trusted seller who has received good ratings from his customers.
     
    adikumar2010 likes this.

Share This Page