Mac OS X vs Windows 7

IronCruz

ICE COOOOL!!!
Hey guys I posted this thread just for my knowledge. Windows OS is widely used in the world. But recently I got to know that Mac OS are also not behind. Almost all games and softwares can run in windows. But is it same in Mac?

Liverpool_fan

Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend
Why only about Mac OS X and Windows? Why are you ignoring Linux, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, DragonFlyBSD, Darwin, among others. Particularly why not Linux? :|

skeletor

Chosen of the Omnissiah
Operating System comparison...

Gaming: Windows > Mac OS X

Everything else: Mac OS X > Windows

OP
IronCruz

IronCruz

ICE COOOOL!!!
Why only about Mac OS X and Windows? Why are you ignoring Linux, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, DragonFlyBSD, Darwin, among others. Particularly why not Linux? :|

Actually im new to Mac. I know something about Linux. And the rest of OS are totally new for me. You can say that im a Noob. I would love to hear features and advantages and disadvantages of Mac over Windows.

skeletor

Chosen of the Omnissiah
The only disadvantage of Mac OS X over Windows is gaming. Nothing else. However, Apple's hardware is expensive but I think this thread is intended for comparing both he Operating Systems in general.

Liverpool_fan

Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend
We are not discussing Linux here. :p
Yeah only discuss corporate toys here :rolleyes:

---------- Post added at 10:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:12 AM ----------

Linux has got same disadvantage.. directx saves MS !!
No offense :)
To be fair Linux also has disadvantage also of the fact that big corporates like Adobe don't port their applications to Linux. :( As for gaming, Mac OS X now also has Steam and some Source powered games, which sadly is not the case in Linux (I hope Phoronix is right though :p )

jayantr7

In the zone
IMO Windows 7 is better if you want to go to Software/Gaming field.I just like Mac OS X because of its Security and Visuals and some other stuffs.

Cool Buddy

Wise Old Owl